Welcome to Tesla Motors Club
Discuss Tesla's Model S, Model 3, Model X, Model Y, Cybertruck, Roadster and More.
Register

I don't really understand the software upgrades. Do I get FSD updates even though I only purchased EAP?

This site may earn commission on affiliate links.
I’m also trying to determine if my 2023 HW4 EAP car will get builds that include FSD Beta code (it hasn’t happened yet). If you do get FSD Beta code, it won’t make any functional difference if you have EAP.
I’m really new to all of this, so don’t really know what I’m talking about. But it seems like the new code for FSD could impact enhanced auto pilot. So I guess I’m curious if they’re rewriting the code from the ground up for FSD it seems like that there would be some overlap with EAP but I have no idea and don’t know enough about it to ask intelligent questions. :)

I purchased the Enhanced Auto Pilot package for my 23 MYLR. I see a lot of chatter about all the new software upgrades coming out. Most of it's list as FSD. Since I only purchased EAP will I see any benefit from the new FSD updates?
There are two software versions of concern. First is the basic software for your car. This is probably something like 2023.20.8. You likely get an update of this every few weeks or so. These updates have bug fixes and often have new features.

Second is the FSDb software, usually referred to as something like 11.4.4. This is code that is included with the other software for the car. In your case, since you have EAP, but not FSD, that code will not be used for driving. And, at present, that code is not incorporated into EAP or TACC, so any updates to FSDb do not affect your car.