Welcome to Tesla Motors Club
Discuss Tesla's Model S, Model 3, Model X, Model Y, Cybertruck, Roadster and More.
Register

Looking for car washing advice

This site may earn commission on affiliate links.

adiggs

Sep 25, 2012
Portland, OR
Good afternoon all,

I have a couple of related problems that I bet a few of you will have some opinions on and can help me out with.

The first problem is that I've been driving an econobox for 20+ years - a car I wash annually, whether it needs it or not. Ok, sometimes I skip a year here and there. The real point being that I've gotten a long way through life and never really needed to learn how to wash a nice car. Now I'm driving the Roadster, and I foresee more car washes in my future. I plan to be hand washing, but suggestions on tools, techniques, and washing / waxing stuff to be using would be greatly appreciated. In almost no time, I've discovered that Jet Black Roadsters need to be hand dried - it collects water spots at an amazing pace.

The second problem, related to the first problem, is that we have extreme chemical sensitivities in the house. So I can't use just anything for washing and cleaning the car, inside especially, but even the outside. So I'm looking for either a product line, or just individual washes and waxes, that have a short and friendly ingredient list. Of particular interest here is leather and other interior cleaners that might work for chemically sensitive folks.

One suggestion for car washing stuff we've run into is Zymol (Official Zymol Website - Home
). Any opinions about their stuff in general, as to how well they work for a Roadster? Anybody with chemical sensitivities with experience with their stuff, or with others?

Thanks for the help,
Asoka