Welcome to Tesla Motors Club
Discuss Tesla's Model S, Model 3, Model X, Model Y, Cybertruck, Roadster and More.
Register

Newbie, just got Powerwall installed

This site may earn commission on affiliate links.
Hi all,

I’m a newbie here. Just got my Powerwall installed this week. So far so good. I have a modest solar system, 4.35 kW and one Powerwall, located on the North Carolina coast. I’m 100% self consumption (but with a grid connection), as my utility (a coop) doesn’t do net metering. I’ve got very low power costs, and my motivation is more altruistic than financial (my average power cost is under 10 cents per kWh). I’ve been reading a number of threads and have already learned a lot, thanks! I currently have my system (Powerwall running 1.17.2) set in self-powered mode with a 25% backup reserve. I may reduce that but it was a place to start. Reading the issues with delivery, I feel fortunate that my installer got me a Powerwall allocated in only 4 months after ordering (in mid-February).

Y’all don’t kick me out, now, but my EV is a Chevy Bolt

-Joel

Congratulations Joel and welcome to the forum! I am also getting a Tesla set up with Powerwall . I am in the early stages of waiting for final blue printing and contract. I expect the install will take place in September. I don't expect to get my power wall for some months but hopefully my advisor can do magic like yours did.

I love the idea of going solar just because it's the right thing to do for the planet. But also, here in West Central Florida, the financial incentives are there as well.

I hope all works well for you and please keep us updated.

Ron

Last edited:
Reactions: Foxyboy
Love the Bolt, Gavine. Good performance, range is about 275-300 in the summer, about 210-220 in the winter. I’m 6’5” and 230 pounds, and have no trouble sitting in the front or back seats. I like the hatchback style.