Welcome to Tesla Motors Club
Discuss Tesla's Model S, Model 3, Model X, Model Y, Cybertruck, Roadster and More.
Register

Powerwall2 near the main panel or 200 feet away subpanel?

This site may earn commission on affiliate links.
Hello,

I need your help in understanding the best location to install the Tesla PowerWall2, Inverter, and the Switchboard in the following configuration. The new detached garage is under construction that will have the subpanel(100Amp) installed about 200 feet away from the main panel(200 Amp) in the main house garage. I am planning to install the 14Kwh Tesla solar panels on the south-facing rooftop of the new garage.

Is it better to have the equipment near the main panel in the garage of the main house or is it okay to install the equipment in the new garage after the subpanel?

EVkid
2022 Tesla Model S Long Range
Cybertruck (deposit)
Tesla Energy 14Kwh + Powerwall2 in plan

I am not an electrician, so take any advice as a non-expert.

Have you figured out where you plan to charge your car and truck? The combination could pull a lot of power, as in 96A, if you charged both at high speed at the same time. Having them both in the detached garage is great from the perspective of solar straight to the vehicles, but even best case, you would be pulling a minimum of 38A to the detached garage. I am not sure that a 100A panel would be large enough. You absolutely need to make sure that the charging circuits are installed prior to solar and Powerwalls.