TMC is an independent, primarily volunteer organization that relies on ad revenue to cover its operating costs. Please consider whitelisting TMC on your ad blocker or making a Paypal contribution here: paypal.me/SupportTMC

Super Charging Station miles per hour rates in NY area

Discussion in 'Model S: Battery & Charging' started by 1windy, Nov 17, 2014.

  1. 1windy

    1windy Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2014
    Messages:
    38
    Location:
    suffolk
    At the JFK station I was charging recently and I was the only one charging at the time and got 300 miles per hour. Then I was at the Syosset super station and they have four stalls. I was the fouth and last one to hook up and could only max at 125 per hour. When someone in the first stall unhooked i waited about 10 minutes and disconnected from the last stall and reconnected to the first stall and pretty quickly got up to 250 miles per hour.
    Can someone explain why? I really have no idea.
    Thanks
    Rich
     
  2. MikeC

    MikeC Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2012
    Messages:
    2,405
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    Every Supercharger feeds two stalls, usually labeled A and B. First person to one of the two stalls gets max charging rate and the second person gets what's leftover. So if someone is on 1A, try to avoid 1B. If someone is on 2B, avoid 2A. Etc.
     
  3. EssDub

    EssDub Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2013
    Messages:
    5
    Location:
    NYC
    Syosset SC power is shared with the Service Center. Charging speeds are much higher during off-hours. I expect the new Paramus NJ SscC to exhibit the same behavior.
     
  4. 1windy

    1windy Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2014
    Messages:
    38
    Location:
    suffolk
    ok and thanks for the info.
     
  5. TexasEV

    TexasEV Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2013
    Messages:
    3,770
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    Also remember mph display is average over a charging session, not instantaneous. It would be more helpful in asking questions (and thinking about it yourself) if you reported kW rather than mph. The kW display (which you can toggle in settings) is instantaneous. Or if you keep the mph display you can calculate kW by multiplying the volts x amps displayed-- those ate instantaneous values also.
     

Share This Page