TMC is an independent, primarily volunteer organization that relies on ad revenue to cover its operating costs. Please consider whitelisting TMC on your ad blocker or making a Paypal contribution here: paypal.me/SupportTMC

Tesla screen crashed while driving

Discussion in 'Model S' started by AmericanPharoh, Aug 5, 2016.

  1. AmericanPharoh

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2016
    Messages:
    9
    Location:
    Los Angeles,CA
    My car has been acting strangely all morning. Auto presenting handles wouldn't present. Touch screen was very sluggish. Seemingly random proximity alert beeps. Decided I was gonna do a reset when I got home.

    I turn on autopilot to see if it would give me any proximity beeps, but I don't hear a confirmation chime when autopilot engages. I look at the center screen and it had gone blank. Nothing except a dark imprint of the Tesla logo (as you'd see if you're resetting it). I panicked. I turn autopilot off and continue to drive the car, begging it not to all of a sudden shut off.

    Music stops.

    A few seconds later, AC stops.

    Luckily it was not on the freeway, but the car operated perfectly fine. The instrument panel still worked like normal, it even had a grey steering wheel icon indicating I could use autopilot if I wished.

    After the computer reboots I get back and the car seems to be operating in tip-top shape. The auto presenting handles are working again, the center screen has returned to its normal responsiveness.

    Just wanted to let other owners know not to panic if your Tesla's center screen crashes while you're driving.
     
  2. rfmurphy81

    rfmurphy81 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2016
    Messages:
    252
    Location:
    Orange County, CA
    Sometimes the car reboots the different systems, even in mid-drive. I've always been told it's not anything to worry about, but perhaps others with more experience can speak to what they've encountered. I suspect the systems should be manually rebooted regularly anyway and maybe this is just the car's way of doing it itself to keep things fresh?
     
  3. Phoenixhawk101

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2015
    Messages:
    72
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    Mine has done reboots like this every now and then (generally about once a month i find). It's no big deal and the reboot takes only 20-30 seconds. The car will drive without issue in that time.
     
  4. Skipdd

    Skipdd Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2015
    Messages:
    97
    Location:
    Silver Spring, MD
    Believe there are threads on this with more detail from owners who are engineers/technical. This is not an uncommon behavior. My understanding is that the systems that drive the displays are separate from those that drive the motors and other critical driving elements. I've come to think of this the same as having to reboot my PC periodically.. It is after all a computer that drives:)
     
  5. S4WRXTTCS

    S4WRXTTCS Active Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2015
    Messages:
    1,178
    Location:
    Snohomish, WA
    My understanding echo's the above few comments. Where the infotainment system is completely segregated from the driving systems.

    In fact you can likely drive it with both screens crashed, but I've only have the 17" center console screen crash while driving. Hasn't happened recently though.
     
  6. deonb

    deonb Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2013
    Messages:
    3,020
    Location:
    Redmond, WA
    I've rebooted both screens many times while driving.

    It's not a big deal apart from the AC that switches off.
     
    • Like x 2
  7. mmccord

    mmccord Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2014
    Messages:
    765
    Location:
    Pine Bush, NY
    Yeah, it happens occasionally. Want to see the car freak out? Reboot the instrument panel computer with autopilot on. :)
     
  8. AB4EJ

    AB4EJ Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2015
    Messages:
    585
    Location:
    Tuscaloosa, AL
    Freak out? I think I'll let you do this one and post the video of it....:confused:
     
  9. RDoc

    RDoc S85D

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2012
    Messages:
    1,569
    Location:
    Boston North Shore
    I've had that happen once. It's not all that confidence inspiring IMHO.
     
  10. ecarfan

    ecarfan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2013
    Messages:
    10,366
    Location:
    San Mateo, CA
    You can reboot both screens while driving and it will not effect your ability to drive the car the "old fashioned way". The driving systems are independent of what the two screens display. Smart engineering.
     
  11. deonb

    deonb Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2013
    Messages:
    3,020
    Location:
    Redmond, WA
    Sure... but there isn't really any other way to engineer that. Drive control needs to be a RTOS but that would be a huge burden on a general purpose display. So that dictates independent systems.
     
  12. mmccord

    mmccord Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2014
    Messages:
    765
    Location:
    Pine Bush, NY
    My instrument panel failed a few weeks ago and I got to drive about 50 miles to the service center without it. When you activate autosteer without a functioning instrument cluster it makes the 'take over immediately' noise and displays a large 'red hands' message on the 17" screen.

    Autosteer functions just fine though.
     
    • Informative x 2

Share This Page