Welcome to Tesla Motors Club
Discuss Tesla's Model S, Model 3, Model X, Model Y, Cybertruck, Roadster and More.
Register

This is what the owner's manual says

This site may earn commission on affiliate links.

NV Ray

Sep 7, 2020
2012 P85 RWD here - pic is from Tesla MS Owner's Manual under "Charging Best Practices". I thought we were supposed to obey the 20/80 rule?

Screenshot 2023-05-02 091227.png

Last edited:
...20/80 rule?
I've been driving a Tesla since 2012 or the past 13 years, and I've never seen the manual mention the 20/80 charging rule.

I've been sticking to the manual instructions: plugin, 90%, and my results have not been bad:

When I sold my 2012 Tesla Model S at 100,000 miles in 2018, its 100% charge was 252.54 miles or a loss of 12.46 miles (out of 265 maximum miles) or a loss of 4.7%:

4NLWBP7.jpg

When I sold my 2018 Tesla Model 3 at almost 50,000 miles, its 100% charge was 285.81 miles or a loss of 24.19 miles out of 310 maximum miles or 7.80%.

BjQQDG9.jpg

Here's my current 2017 Tesla Model X report: its 100% expected range was 268 miles or a loss of 27 miles out of 295 maximum miles or 9.15%.

IpgAwP8.jpg

• Informative
Reactions: pilotSteve
I've been driving a Tesla since 2012 or the past 13 years, and I've never seen the manual mention the 20/80 charging rule.

I've been sticking to the manual instructions: plugin, 90%, and my results have not been bad:

When I sold my 2012 Tesla Model S at 100,000 miles in 2018, its 100% charge was 252.54 miles or a loss of 12.46 miles (out of 265 maximum miles) or a loss of 4.7%:

4NLWBP7.jpg

When I sold my 2018 Tesla Model 3 at almost 50,000 miles, its 100% charge was 285.81 miles or a loss of 24.19 miles out of 310 maximum miles or 7.80%.

BjQQDG9.jpg

Here's my current 2017 Tesla Model X report: its 100% expected range was 268 miles or a loss of 27 miles out of 295 maximum miles or 9.15%.

IpgAwP8.jpg