Welcome to Tesla Motors Club
Discuss Tesla's Model S, Model 3, Model X, Model Y, Cybertruck, Roadster and More.
Register

TOTAL Newbie - Please be gentle

This site may earn commission on affiliate links.
Hi all

I live in the UK and I'm looking at buying a second hand Tesla Model S. I have a Nissan Leaf so I know a little bit about EV's but I can only compare my very limited Tesla knowledge to my very experienced Leaf knowledge.

I've found a 2014 Model S P85+ It's done 68,000 miles. It's an ex demo with all the bells and whistles.

In the Nissan world, the health of the battery is more important than the milage. I assume that the same applies to a Tesla.

How do I find out the battery health of the Model S I'm interested in? Do I need the VIn number to speak to Tesla? What else should I be looking out for when buying a second hand Model S?

Any hints and tips would be really greatful. Hopefully I'll soon be a part of your exclusive group!!!

85kwh batteries in general have held up quite well. By 2014 you’re clear of the “A” rev batteries, which while generally fine, have a supercharging speed limitation of ~100kw.

I’d ask the seller what the range is when charged to 100% and compare that to rated range when new. At 68k miles ~3-7% degradation from new would be considered normal/good.

Also remember you’ve got a good 3 years of battery warranty left, so if anything is amiss, you’re covered.

Good luck!

85kwh batteries in general have held up quite well. By 2014 you’re clear of the “A” rev batteries, which while generally fine, have a supercharging speed limitation of ~100kw.

I’d ask the seller what the range is when charged to 100% and compare that to rated range when new. At 68k miles ~3-7% degradation from new would be considered normal/good.

Also remember you’ve got a good 3 years of battery warranty left, so if anything is amiss, you’re covered.

Good luck!