Welcome to Tesla Motors Club
Discuss Tesla's Model S, Model 3, Model X, Model Y, Cybertruck, Roadster and More.
Register

Towing Trailer Noobie - Please explain like I am 14 years old

This site may earn commission on affiliate links.
Hi All,

I'm looking to rent a towable trailer for a road trip with my wife and kids up to the Canada, around Banff, Jasper, and surrounding areas. However, I am new to the trailer stuff, and in doing my own research, I'm having trouble keeping up with everything I need to prepare. I've watched videos on installing the tow hitch, and I don't anticipate I will have any issues with that. Supercharging seems pretty available except from my route from Lake Louise - Jasper. May just have to take it slow to make it to the Jasper Superchargers.

1) Can someone give me some resources on what I need to know about towing a trailer?
2) I'm reading about needing a brake controller on the tesla manual, but don't see a lot of resources beyond that. Is Tesla the only option to purchase something like that if necessary, or does anyone have any other aftermarket suggestions? I'm looking to tow a 3500 lb trailer with my 2022 MXLR.
3) What other considerations do I need to have on this subject?

Thank you all in advance.
Jeff

Reactions: WyoDude
Hi All,

I'm looking to rent a towable trailer for a road trip with my wife and kids up to the Canada, around Banff, Jasper, and surrounding areas. However, I am new to the trailer stuff, and in doing my own research, I'm having trouble keeping up with everything I need to prepare. I've watched videos on installing the tow hitch, and I don't anticipate I will have any issues with that. Supercharging seems pretty available except from my route from Lake Louise - Jasper. May just have to take it slow to make it to the Jasper Superchargers.

1) Can someone give me some resources on what I need to know about towing a trailer?