Welcome to Tesla Motors Club
Discuss Tesla's Model S, Model 3, Model X, Model Y, Cybertruck, Roadster and More.
Register

20 mph zones in side streets

This site may earn commission on affiliate links.
Hi - I am a new M3 driver, so excuse me if this has already been asked. I drive around South London and the neighbouring Boroughs have different 20 or 30 mph speed limits applied to their respective roads. When I am on AutoPilot and most of the time the car will identify the speed limits correctly, but it applies a 20 mph limit on some 30mph roads. I've tried to glance at the screen when this happens, but it would appear that the car is reading the speed limit from surrounding streets - even those where the signs have slipped or been deliberately turned. It would be good if the car could override these intermittent and unnecessary limits.

Tesla speed limit recognition is crap, not to put too fine a point on it. Hopefully the forthcoming intelligent speed assist regulations will force Tesla to pay more attention to this at some point over the coming few years, but don't hold your breath.

On a more optimistic note, Elon promised that improvements (unspecified) to the European software is slated for March. Fingers crossed there may be some improvements there - but I wouldn't bank on it....

My pet bugbear - if you're brave enough to try to use TACC in town - is the school zone signs that say 20mph limit when lights flashing. Of course, the Tesla just reads the 20mph sign and doesn't understand that it's not applicable because the lights aren't flashing....

Reactions: DenkiJidousha
Maybe read the manual about when to use AutoPilot

1643276561179.png