Welcome to Tesla Motors Club
Discuss Tesla's Model S, Model 3, Model X, Model Y, Cybertruck, Roadster and More.
Register

a self-camping 2018 Model S

This site may earn commission on affiliate links.
During the pandemic it has been nice to get out of town and camp. So I have remodeled my 2018 Model S into a 2-seater, with a kitchen and sleeping lounge in the back. Now I can cook, do dishes, brew espresso and sleep comfortably and electrically.

If there is one of me, the front passenger seat is my suitcase. If there are two of us, the clothes and cargo go in back, and we sleep in a tent.

I'm not sure if anyone else is interested in such a conversion but I have patterns and pictures to share, it has been fun to evolve the design. Obviously I am a retired engineer.

The refrigerator, kettle and plumbing system are 12 volt. There is a portable battery/alternator product just inside the hatch that powers 120v appliances up to 1000 W. A 10L water heater 9 gallon fresh water tank and pump all fit low in the rear well. The bar-sink was put up where I can reach the faucet from inside or outside. I can pull the sprayer way out of the car if necessary to defend my camp! A greywater tank sets on the low floor behind the driver. Even though I am allowing the FSD software to take me around corners, the liquids are all staying where intended, so far!

This remodel did not detract from driver's visibility. I can store my food and some bulky appliances in the frunk.

I built a separate "RV" electrical system with gel-cell 12 volt batteries in order to be always-on for the sake of my fridge, pipe & tank freeze protection and the positionable heated bed; this entire "RV" electrical system is (slowly) charged by my car's 12v accessory outlet (with its 20a fuse) whenever driving or in camp mode.

Attachments

• PXL_20221123_213150428.jpeg
    PXL_20221123_213150428.jpeg
    483.8 KB · Views: 306
  • PXL_20221123_213225485.jpeg
    PXL_20221123_213225485.jpeg
    475.1 KB · Views: 230