Welcome to Tesla Motors Club
Discuss Tesla's Model S, Model 3, Model X, Model Y, Cybertruck, Roadster and More.
Register

Adding storage to SolarCity lease

This site may earn commission on affiliate links.

ohmman

Upright Member
Global Moderator
Feb 13, 2014
North Bay/Truckee, CA
My kids' school has SolarCity/Tesla leased PV. I'm trying to see if we can add storage to keep the school up during public safety outages. I am getting a copy the lease, but in the meantime, does anyone know if it's permissible to add storage to a leased system? Seems like it should be, but I'm very unfamiliar with the lease terms since I've never done it before.

I don't see why the terms of the leased system would be relevant unless you wanted to add the storage to the lease.

My kid's school also got solar recently. It would be relatively hard to tie the storage and solar together because they created a new feed between the parking lot array and the distribution cabinet near the utility transformer. The school is served by a 277Y480V transformer and it looks like each building has its own 120Y208V transformer. The solar has its own production meter. All this would make it very hard to do a reasonably sized storage system based on Powerwalls unless you did an isolated system for just the office on two phases. Even then, you wouldn't have access to the solar to keep it charged. It would require a Powerpack at the 480V level and I don't see that it would be cost effective unless it was fully integrated and economically supported by a range of things like demand response and peak shaving.

• Helpful
Reactions: ohmman
My kids' school has SolarCity/Tesla leased PV. I'm trying to see if we can add storage to keep the school up during public safety outages. I am getting a copy the lease, but in the meantime, does anyone know if it's permissible to add storage to a leased system? Seems like it should be, but I'm very unfamiliar with the lease terms since I've never done it before.