TMC is an independent, primarily volunteer organization that relies on ad revenue to cover its operating costs. Please consider whitelisting TMC on your ad blocker or making a Paypal contribution here: paypal.me/SupportTMC

Airplane mode?

Discussion in 'Model S: User Interface' started by Saghost, Dec 29, 2014.

  1. Saghost

    Saghost Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2013
    Messages:
    3,003
    Location:
    Delaware
    This is something of an off-the-wall theoretical question, but is there a way to turn off the car's built in 3G cellular radio?

    As long as the service is free, I'm not sure there's an obvious reason to for most people, but I was curious...
    Walter
     
  2. Johan

    Johan Took a TSLA bear test. Came back negative.

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2012
    Messages:
    6,890
    Location:
    Drammen, Norway
    There isn't, to the user. Until recently here in Norway the 3G/GSM-data would loose connection and not come back until after a big screen reset, but since the last firmware update this hasn't happened for weeks. I could see a setting where the user would want to turn it off, but no there is no way to do that other than of course if you plug in a jamming device in the 12V socket :)
     
  3. castor

    castor Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2013
    Messages:
    148
    Location:
    Redmond, WA
    I know we love the model S but take the car with you in an airplane for a trip seems too much :biggrin:.
     
  4. Saghost

    Saghost Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2013
    Messages:
    3,003
    Location:
    Delaware
    That seems rather radical. I would have thought you could at least pull a fuse, if it came to that...

    - - - Updated - - -

    Well, Amtrak has that Auto-train - which seems like an easy way to have a car at your vacation destination. But I suspect that airline might be a little unreasonable about the baggage fee... ;)
    Walter
     
  5. Johan

    Johan Took a TSLA bear test. Came back negative.

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2012
    Messages:
    6,890
    Location:
    Drammen, Norway
    I'm guessing it would be under fuse 51, but it would turn off the whole 17" screen...

    456d9e52b9ee1f478493402ee1349fac.jpg
     
  6. Saghost

    Saghost Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2013
    Messages:
    3,003
    Location:
    Delaware
    Huh. That's certainly not an easy answer. Thanks for the information. :)
    Walter
     
  7. Jason

    Jason Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2013
    Messages:
    139
    Location:
    DFW, TX
    Wouldn't having it use a wifi hotspot turn off the 3g - thought it disables it while using wifi. You could rig up a cheap router to run off 12v and have it link to it, with router not hooked to internet the car should not be able to get info...
     

Share This Page