TMC is an independent, primarily volunteer organization that relies on ad revenue to cover its operating costs. Please consider whitelisting TMC on your ad blocker or making a Paypal contribution here: paypal.me/SupportTMC

Annoying navigation screen redraw

Discussion in 'Model S: User Interface' started by David99, Nov 23, 2014.

  1. David99

    David99 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2014
    Messages:
    2,055
    Location:
    Brea, Orange County
    #1 David99, Nov 23, 2014
    Last edited by a moderator: Mar 13, 2016
    I've been dealing with this issue for a while. The Navigation screen seems to have a redraw problem. Most of the screen content disappears and then shows up again. Unfortunately this happens almost constantly when I drive. Does anyone else have this problem? Here is a video of it.

    <a href="http://youtu.be/8oNZkmg_Hvg" target="_blank">
     
  2. jerry33

    jerry33 S85 - VIN:P05130 - 3/2/13

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2012
    Messages:
    12,763
    Location:
    Texas
    What I think is happening here is that there are two routes that are very close in distance and the Nav unit has to work harder to figure out which one to use. I sometimes see this behaviour when the 17" display is also flipping between one and the other. I'd call it normal because both displays are dynamic and adjust the route every few seconds. This could be eliminated--or at least greatly reduced--if there were the movable dots to fix the route as there are in the web version of Google Maps. Also some "avoid ..." settings would reduce this behaviour.
     
  3. David99

    David99 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2014
    Messages:
    2,055
    Location:
    Brea, Orange County
    It did show up after the 6.0 upgrade when they switched to traffic based routing. But it happens pretty much all the time and constantly. It's gotten to a point where it happens constantly about every 5-10 seconds (while the car is moving, not when I'm stopped at a light). I think it's just a bug that redraws the entire screen when it load the map data coming up. I doubt it's the switching between routes. That would happen here and there, not continuously.
     
  4. LucM

    LucM Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2014
    Messages:
    67
    Location:
    Westport, CT
    Do you have the traffic re routing set to 5 min? If so, increase it to 10 min to see if that helps. I haven't had the issue you describe.
     
  5. David99

    David99 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2014
    Messages:
    2,055
    Location:
    Brea, Orange County
    I'll try that!
     
  6. Alvesd

    Alvesd New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2013
    Messages:
    3
    Location:
    San Jose, California, United States
    I also have the problem, after 6.0.
     
  7. bob_p

    bob_p Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2012
    Messages:
    939
    I've noticed that with 6.0 the displays can be sluggish sometimes. Yesterday, the "settings" display was very, very slow trying to draw opening the roof. And what you're seeing could be similar - something is running on the processors slowing everything down.

    The map images are frequently redrawn, especially when the images are in "forward is up" mode, like on the dashboard. Plus the dashboard map will change resolution and automatically zoom out at higher speeds. Those redraws are usually pretty quick, and not very noticeable. What was shown in the video looks like the redraws are being slowed down considerably.

    Next time this happens, try to reboot both of your processors and see if the problem continues - and if it does, issue a "bug report" because the navigation software shouldn't be this sluggish...
     
  8. David99

    David99 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2014
    Messages:
    2,055
    Location:
    Brea, Orange County
    I tried to set it higher and even to 'never' and the problem is the same. Made no difference.
     
  9. Vger

    Vger Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2009
    Messages:
    1,685
    Location:
    Salt Spring Island, BC, Canada
    I would report it to Tesla. They are pretty good about eventually paying attention to such feedback, and even letting you know if they have fix in mind or in the works.
     
  10. David99

    David99 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2014
    Messages:
    2,055
    Location:
    Brea, Orange County
    I kind of did. On my last visit at the Service Center I told them about a laggy display but they kind of brushed it off saying having a phone charger and a USB stick connected to the car would cause slow downs. I unplugged both and saw absolutely no difference. There are a few other issues so I guess I will have to go to the service center again.
     
  11. bob_p

    bob_p Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2012
    Messages:
    939
    When this happens, use the built-in bug reporting feature so the car can send a snapshot of the screen and status of the software to the engineering team to look at what's going on in your car - when the problem occurs.
     
  12. LucM

    LucM Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2014
    Messages:
    67
    Location:
    Westport, CT
    I guess I could pop open the manual, but how do you self report the bug/take the snapshot?

    Thanks
     
  13. bob_p

    bob_p Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2012
    Messages:
    939
    Hold down the voice activation button and say "bug report" and a brief description of the problem. Once the software recognizes the bug report command, it should take a snapshot of the screens and the software and submit it to Tesla. This is documented in the release notes in the car.
     
  14. ThortsMD

    ThortsMD Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2012
    Messages:
    255
    Location:
    Seattle
    The map is re-drawing as you change speed and the map changes it's resolution.
     
  15. AMPUP

    AMPUP Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2014
    Messages:
    467
    Location:
    Dunn Loring, VA
    Mine is in service for this issue and also the fact I lose GPS signal allot on long drives, the GPS puts me on the opposite side of the freeway or on side streets parallel to the road I am actually driving on, it then reroutes me every 20 seconds. They changed a gps cable but it hasn't fixed it they said. It's apparently just doing 360 degree turns on the main map screen now. I should get it back after the TG holiday, so will report back if they fixed the constant refresh too.
     
  16. David99

    David99 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2014
    Messages:
    2,055
    Location:
    Brea, Orange County
    Yes I understand it's changing the zoom level based on speed, but my 10 year old Tomtom did a better job at redrawing the screen than my car currently.
     
  17. AMPUP

    AMPUP Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2014
    Messages:
    467
    Location:
    Dunn Loring, VA
    My MCU is being replaced tomorrow I'll let you know the results
     

Share This Page