TMC is an independent, primarily volunteer organization that relies on ad revenue to cover its operating costs. Please consider whitelisting TMC on your ad blocker and becoming a Supporting Member. For more info: Support TMC

Auto lane change not working

Discussion in 'Model 3: Driving Dynamics' started by goto10, Apr 16, 2018.

  1. goto10

    goto10 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2018
    Messages:
    182
    Location:
    Provo, UT
    I took delivery last Wednesday and have used Autopilot several times successfully but have not been able to get auto lane change to work. I have it enabled in settings and I see the gray lines indicating the adjacent lanes on the display. When I signal the blue line in the direction I'm signaling momentarily changes to a dashed line then it goes solid again and the gray lines momentarily disappear. I've tried it about 20 times now, all on a major interstate with well marked lines and no cars in the adjacent lanes.
     
  2. thimel

    thimel Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2015
    Messages:
    586
    Are you pushing the turn signal the full 2 detents so it stays on? If you push it less it only blinks 3 times which is not long enough got the lane change to occur.
     
  3. goto10

    goto10 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2018
    Messages:
    182
    Location:
    Provo, UT
    I have tried every type of signal possible. I have done the single tap, the long hold against the first detent, and pushing it all the way past the detent so that it stays on. In the "stay on" position I've given it several seconds to comply - which is awkward on a freeway with traffic - but from the YouTube vids I've seen the change should happen pretty quickly. Some people even say too quickly. But the switch from solid blue lane indicator to dashed indicator and back occurs immediately upon activating the signal regardless of how I do it.
     
  4. Willy3988

    Willy3988 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2016
    Messages:
    84
    Location:
    Pleasanton Ca
    Did you try rebooting yet?
     
  5. dstroot

    dstroot Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2017
    Messages:
    18
    Location:
    California
    Turn it on. It is not active when autopilot is on. It is a separate toggle.
     
  6. goto10

    goto10 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2018
    Messages:
    182
    Location:
    Provo, UT
    Per my initial post, it is enabled in settings already.
     
  7. goto10

    goto10 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2018
    Messages:
    182
    Location:
    Provo, UT
    I haven't tried a reboot yet. I'll try to remember to do that before my commute home today.
     
  8. rhaekar

    rhaekar Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2017
    Messages:
    452
    Location:
    San Diego
    It may still be calibrating. Mine didn't work right away either but I may have been doing it wrong. Now it works fine.

    I just hold the turn signal to the first position but don't actually let it click. As if you were just doing the quick turn signal to get it to flash 3 times.
     
  9. nitzmahone

    nitzmahone Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2018
    Messages:
    60
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    Yeah, my Model 3 wouldn't do a lane change or autopark for the first several days I had it, even though all the other EAP features were working fine (Autosteer/TACC lit up on the way home from delivery). Just keep trying... I got back from a ~400mi road trip today where I used the heck out of all the EAP features in heavy rain- it all worked a treat. I was so much more relaxed when I got home than I would've been had I been doing all the driving myself.
     
    • Informative x 3
    • Like x 1
  10. goto10

    goto10 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2018
    Messages:
    182
    Location:
    Provo, UT
    Do you recall about what mileage that was? I've got about 300 miles on mine so far and it still wasn't working this morning.
     
  11. nitzmahone

    nitzmahone Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2018
    Messages:
    60
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    I think it was right around then that it started working (good mix of local and freeway driving). Other than a couple of odd "aborts" on my recent road trip (that didn't seem to fit the reasons the manual states), I used it dozens of times with no issues. I only use the "hold at first detent" activation method, and it goes within a couple of blinks.
     
    • Informative x 1
  12. goto10

    goto10 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2018
    Messages:
    182
    Location:
    Provo, UT
    I was near the Tesla showroom today and stopped by to ask them what they thought. The person I talked to there said that auto lane change did not have a separate calibration but it's an issue they have been hearing about on some Model 3s and recommended I call the service center. It's still interesting that yours eventually started working. I wonder if maybe one of your sensors was slightly out of spec and corrected itself. Also, the Tesla employee could have been mistaken - wouldn't be the first time.

    I'll check in with the service center and see what they say.
     
  13. VBXATL

    VBXATL Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2016
    Messages:
    68
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    This happened to me after I got the 10.5 update. It was tied to my ultrasonic sensors (the parking sensors). They weren't working at all. When I pulled into my garage, I didn't get any of the normal beeps and lines when I got close to a wall. Without the ultrasonics, everytime I tried to do a lane change, it would immediately abort.

    I called service and they transferred me to technical who ran my logs and said I it showed some error codes. I scheduled an appointment. However, a couple of days later, they started working again. When I went to the service appt, they ran diagnostics and everything looked fine. No issues since.

    Check to see if your ultrasonics are working.
     
  14. FlyF4

    FlyF4 Son of a MX

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2017
    Messages:
    822
    Location:
    moved to San Diego
    I guess you know that lane change currently does not work on all roads? Have you been out on a major road like an interstate?
     
  15. goto10

    goto10 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2018
    Messages:
    182
    Location:
    Provo, UT
    They do appear to be sensing obstacles in my garage, at least at the front of the car. I don't know if I've ever been in a situation to test the rear though. Maybe I'll have one of my kids walk around the car when I get home and see what comes up. I've never seen anything come up while I'm driving though and I'd thought there would be some feedback from other vehicles/barricades/etc.

    Good tip. Thanks.
     
  16. goto10

    goto10 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2018
    Messages:
    182
    Location:
    Provo, UT
    Yep, per my original post: "I've tried it about 20 times now, all on a major interstate with well marked lines and no cars in the adjacent lanes." My brother-in-law's Model S can change lanes fine on the same road.
     
  17. FlyF4

    FlyF4 Son of a MX

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2017
    Messages:
    822
    Location:
    moved to San Diego
    Ok, good, sorry I might have missed that point. Something wasn't displaying properly when I viewed it.
     
  18. Bruinfan

    Bruinfan Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2016
    Messages:
    164
    Location:
    Elk Grove, ca
    not the same thing, but will add my data point and experience:
    was lane changing on AP, then halfway over, it abruptly swerved back, as if it didn't want to hit a car, but there was no car.

    shocked me, so i did it again, and again.. 3 times in a row.

    then the 4th time it wouldn't lane change at all. And then the next day.

    So, I got to thinking... I pick up a ton of bugs on I-5... i wonder if a bug, or an accumulation of bugs smashed and obstructed a sensor.

    looking at the sensors, didn't look obviously obstructed, but maybe some guts in the creases.
    cleaned the bumper, especially the sensors thoroughly... problem solved.
     
    • Informative x 2
    • Like x 1
  19. rhaekar

    rhaekar Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2017
    Messages:
    452
    Location:
    San Diego
    If you release the turn signal too soon it'll move back to the original lane.

    If the cameras can't find the lane markers in the lane you're changing to it'll move back to the original lane too.
     
    • Informative x 2
    • Helpful x 1
  20. Bruinfan

    Bruinfan Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2016
    Messages:
    164
    Location:
    Elk Grove, ca
    give me a little credit....
    i know how it works... 4 times i was able to reproduce it, until it just stopped changing lanes altogether....

    and it did it suddenly, like how I would if I saw a car last second and swerved back. what you are talking about is a more gentle come back to original lane.
     

Share This Page

  • About Us

    Formed in 2006, Tesla Motors Club (TMC) was the first independent online Tesla community. Today it remains the largest and most dynamic community of Tesla enthusiasts. Learn more.
  • Do you value your experience at TMC? Consider becoming a Supporting Member of Tesla Motors Club. As a thank you for your contribution, you'll get nearly no ads in the Community and Groups sections. Additional perks are available depending on the level of contribution. Please visit the Account Upgrades page for more details.


    SUPPORT TMC