Welcome to Tesla Motors Club
Discuss Tesla's Model S, Model 3, Model X, Model Y, Cybertruck, Roadster and More.
Register

Autopilot on 2023.12.1.1 much improved for me.

This site may earn commission on affiliate links.
Has anyone else noticed a significant improvement with basic autopilot in smoothly stopping for a stopped car ahead, and in stop and go traffic on 2023.12.1.1?

On previous versions if I was using AP and there were cars stopped ahead it seemed like AP would wait too long and then hit the brakes too hard to come to a stop. If someone was behind me I'd worry they might either rear end me or at least assume I'm a bad driver. It was unpleasant enough that I would always just disengage it and slow down myself. But after getting 12.1.1 it is like the car is seeing much further ahead and beings slowing sooner and comes to a respectably smooth stop. Well enough that 95% of the time I don't think anyone behind me would think anything of it.

This also has made a big improvement in stop and go traffic. It no longer will zoom ahead when the car in front starts moving and then hit the bakes too hard if it slows down quickly again.

I'd say it still won't keep up with the car in front when it accelerates as well as it should but I just push the pedal a bit if I need to.

Anyone else notice this?

I have a 2022 M3 LR. Hardware 3.

Reactions: powertoold
Interesting. That update is pending on my car and I'm honestly holding off installing 2023.12.5 because of how good 2023.12.1.1 has been for me. I don't want to risk regression. Thanks for the comment, I'm going to keep holding off for now going to 12.5.
To be clear, there was no difference on any other previous versions either. It did not get better and then get worse again. It was always bad since I got the car.

Reactions: MutantT