Welcome to Tesla Motors Club
Discuss Tesla's Model S, Model 3, Model X, Model Y, Cybertruck, Roadster and More.
Register

Calculating Charging Cost at Home

This site may earn commission on affiliate links.
Newbie here. Got my 2021 Model X on December 10th, 2020. No problems found luckily and having a ball driving now. I am finding a new way to drive thanks to the electric motors making things quick. Not to mention the nice road handling and so much else.

So, after many charges now, about every two days using the Wall Connector at 47 amps and 240 volts.Tonight I decided there must be a way to put some formulas into a spreadsheet to figure out how much it is costing me to charge.

Tampa Electric or TECO as it's called (a Duke Energy company) charges the below amounts as of my 12/09/2020 billing.

Base charge of $15.05 / kWh

Energy charge of $0.05375 / kWh
Fuel charge of $0.02285 / kWh

Total of the last two is $0.0802/kWh.

Using P=I*E
P=? (kWh)
I=47
E=240
(Not at all sure about the above)

Now how do I complete and or correct this formula to get my total cost to charge
the 165 miles needed to get to the top charge of 334 miles as shown after each full charge?
I haven't used electrical formulas in a long time and I am so confused by it now.
Can anyone shed some light on this for me and maybe other members here?

Thanks in advance,
Paul in Tampa

Reactions: SmartElectric
Welcome, and congrats on your new car :)

Using P=I*E
P=? (kWh)
I=47
E=240

I = Amps = 47
V = Volts = 240
P = Power = I*V = 47*240 watts = 47*0.240 kW

E = Energy = P*hours = kWh
Unless you know how much time you charge, none of this helps you.

---
The card in the bottom left of the screen has distance traveled and kWh/mile. The product tells you the total kWh consumed during travel (which does not include ~ 12% charging losses or car vampire losses.)

Your utility has these marginal energy charges

TECO.png

So either 5.495+3.336 cents per kWh or
6.495+4.361 cents per kWh

Example: