TMC is an independent, primarily volunteer organization that relies on ad revenue to cover its operating costs. Please consider whitelisting TMC on your ad blocker or making a Paypal contribution here: paypal.me/SupportTMC

Dial or call?

Discussion in 'Model S: User Interface' started by sp4rk, Dec 14, 2013.

  1. sp4rk

    sp4rk Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2012
    Messages:
    1,219
    Location:
    Schaumburg, IL
    When I first got my car, I could have sworn I told the GUI to "call soandso". And it worked.
    About 3 months ago I started getting errors, "unknown command". Scratching my head, I thought ... hummm.
    Then I started saying "dial what's her name".
    Today it seems to work sometimes one way, sometimes another but I usually have to ask "her" at least twice.
    Anyone else have this?
     
  2. kendallpb

    kendallpb Model S: P 8061

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2010
    Messages:
    1,185
    Location:
    MD, USA
    I always say "call" and it works, but if you start talking before it says "recording" the the dash (first it says something else; I forget what..."preparing" or something like that?) . . . it may miss the command word you're saying. You probably know that, but I thought I'd mention it just in case.

    Note: I have 4.5 and I presume they haven't changed it in later versions of the software, but I don't know for sure.
     
  3. rlang59

    rlang59 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2013
    Messages:
    923
    Location:
    US
    In 5.8 there is no more delay between pressing the button and "Recording".

    Saying call works for me.
     
  4. martinve

    martinve Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2013
    Messages:
    1,048
    Location:
    Heerlen, NL
    Be happy you can actually use the voice commands. Somehow the dutch version doesn't work. It's neither recognize dutch command nor English commands.
    Could me the accent maybe....
    But I'm patient. Never driven such a nice car in my life, so I'm happy.
     
  5. kendallpb

    kendallpb Model S: P 8061

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2010
    Messages:
    1,185
    Location:
    MD, USA
    Groovy!
     
  6. Ames

    Ames Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2013
    Messages:
    451
    Location:
    Abu Dhabi, UAE
    On my brief test drive in Switzerland I Tried "Play 'Burn it Down' by Linkin Park" , but it didn't work. Did I get the syntax wrong? Maybe I should have used a German verb? Perhaps "Burn It Down" is removed from all catalogs for safety reasons?
     
  7. kendallpb

    kendallpb Model S: P 8061

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2010
    Messages:
    1,185
    Location:
    MD, USA
    If the syntax is wrong or (more likely) it misunderstood, then it should say something on the dash, below the speedometer, like "command not understood" (I forget just what the phrase is). If it understood but didn't find the song, it should pull up the song search interface with what it did understand already typed in.

    I'm guessing it misunderstood--perhaps, as you say, it expected German. What was the interface in? I haven't read about this, but I'd guess if the interface is in German, it would expect German, but if in English, it would expect English...? Not sure.
     
  8. Ames

    Ames Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2013
    Messages:
    451
    Location:
    Abu Dhabi, UAE
    My recollection is that it didn't say anything. It is quite possible that the car was in German mode, I didn't have enough time behind the wheel to know for sure; not important. When I actually own one of these fine automobiles I'm sure I'll get it to work like a charm.
     

Share This Page