TMC is an independent, primarily volunteer organization that relies on ad revenue to cover its operating costs. Please consider whitelisting TMC on your ad blocker or making a Paypal contribution here: paypal.me/SupportTMC

Download prompts on TMC tonite

Discussion in 'Site Feedback' started by brianman, Feb 7, 2014.

  1. brianman

    brianman Burrito Founder

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2011
    Messages:
    15,487
    I've seen at least 5 of these so far tonight. Never seem them before on TMC. Presumably coming from the advertisement banners.

    DownloadPromptsOnTMCTonight.jpg

    FYI
     
  2. Chris TX

    Chris TX Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2013
    Messages:
    1,486
    Location:
    Dallas, TX
    That's why I'm a paid member. I don't want to get viruses! ;)

    Seriously, though that's not cool. Is there a possibility that your system has a virus/malware itself? It could also be a defective cookie distributor.
     
  3. doug

    doug Administrator / Head Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2006
    Messages:
    15,914
    Location:
    Stanford, California
    Yeah, I need more info. Can you email me a shot of the whole page?
     
  4. brianman

    brianman Burrito Founder

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2011
    Messages:
    15,487
    I'll try to grab one next time I see it.
     
  5. brianman

    brianman Burrito Founder

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2011
    Messages:
    15,487
    I think it's (at least) the Domino's ad. I've seen it twice for the double-domino's ad.

    Mookie1.png
     
  6. doug

    doug Administrator / Head Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2006
    Messages:
    15,914
    Location:
    Stanford, California
    Does "reply to thread" always show up twice on the page?
     
  7. brianman

    brianman Burrito Founder

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2011
    Messages:
    15,487
    Yes. Once at the top, and once at the bottom. I trimmed out the middle (with the thread contents). Did you need that as well?
     
  8. brianman

    brianman Burrito Founder

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2011
    Messages:
    15,487
    Again, Domino's:

    Mookie2.png


    (At the top of this one was a Cadillac ad.)
     
  9. doug

    doug Administrator / Head Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2006
    Messages:
    15,914
    Location:
    Stanford, California
    Anyone else having this issue? I haven't seen in testing.
     
  10. ElSupreme

    ElSupreme Model S 03182

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2012
    Messages:
    4,279
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    #10 ElSupreme, Feb 10, 2014
    Last edited: Feb 10, 2014
    I just confirmed this. Win7 and IE11. Seems to correspond with the Domino's ad, it took a lot of random looking and pizza searches before I finally got one.

    DominosIsEvil.PNG

    Close up
    DominosIsEvilCloseUp.PNG
     
  11. Lloyd

    Lloyd Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2011
    Messages:
    4,886
    Location:
    San Luis Obispo, CA
    This is Malware, and can be removed by running Malware bytes.

    Manual removal suggestion:

    That is a tracking cookie. You can get rid of it by using your browser's cookie function.

    For chrome click on the wrench icon and go to options. Then go to "under the hood" and then go to content settings. Then go to "show cookies and other site data". Type in mookie1.com at the search box and delete the tracking cookie that pops up.

    For Firefox, look in the options panel and go to privacy. There you can remove the cookie(s)
    http://support.mozilla.com/en-US/kb/Dele if you need more info.

    For Internet explorer - http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9ojrnq_Ze this is a video.
     
  12. ElSupreme

    ElSupreme Model S 03182

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2012
    Messages:
    4,279
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    Quick fix brianman. Clear all your browser history. Stop searching for 'pizza' 'dominos' or anything related to either, except in 'in-private browsing' windows! ;-)
     
  13. brianman

    brianman Burrito Founder

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2011
    Messages:
    15,487
    No references to domino or mookie in %APPDATA%\Local\Microsoft\Windows\INetCache.

    I'm not confident this suggestion addresses the problem, rather than just side-stepping it.
     
  14. ElSupreme

    ElSupreme Model S 03182

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2012
    Messages:
    4,279
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    No it certainly is just an attempt to side-step the problem. Not meant to address the problem at all.
     

Share This Page