TMC is an independent, primarily volunteer organization that relies on ad revenue to cover its operating costs. Please consider whitelisting TMC on your ad blocker or making a Paypal contribution here: paypal.me/SupportTMC

Feature Request: Charging Multiple Tesla's Simultaneously

Discussion in 'Model X' started by K-MTG, Feb 8, 2016.

  1. K-MTG

    K-MTG Sunshade Captain of TMC

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2015
    Messages:
    2,386
    Location:
    Irvine, CA
    #1 K-MTG, Feb 8, 2016
    Last edited by a moderator: Mar 13, 2016
    For many on the forum, the Model X will be their second Tesla vehicle or they plan on purchasing another Tesla in the near future. Unfortunately, most homes aren't built to handle the excessive energy needs associated with charging multiple Tesla's and if possible, the cost associated for an upgraded service is not feasible.

    I currently have a Model X ordered and plan on purchasing the Model S & 3. I have a 200 AMP service from SCE, at 80% load the max I can pull is 160 AMPS. As you know, the AMPS can already be adjusted using the Tesla and other 3rd party apps.

    I have a Eagle Energy Gateway that reports my live energy usage and integrates with my Home Automation System:


    Wouldn't it be beneficial to integrate this with Tesla so AMPS can automatically be adjusted based on the available energy. For instance, I can put a 35 kWh limit so my Teslas' automatically lower the amperage and when one finished charging, the other can automatically amperage increase saving time.

    What do you think? Do you think we can develop this?
     
  2. calisnow

    calisnow Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2014
    Messages:
    1,136
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    Until you posted this message I assumed that if you plugged two Teslas into one 200 amp circuit that somehow the load would be adjusted between the cars until they were both charged - how is it done now?
     
  3. K-MTG

    K-MTG Sunshade Captain of TMC

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2015
    Messages:
    2,386
    Location:
    Irvine, CA
    The loads do not automatically adjust currently, (Tesla's do not communicate with each other) they can only be dialed down manually using the 17 inch display or the mobile app.
     
  4. eloder

    eloder Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2015
    Messages:
    970
    Location:
    Ohio, USA
    Sounds like a job for IFTTT integration for Tesla, at a minimum :)
     
  5. K-MTG

    K-MTG Sunshade Captain of TMC

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2015
    Messages:
    2,386
    Location:
    Irvine, CA
    Is it possible to conduct a unofficial integration, for instance I recall that someone integrated their Tesla with the Amazon dash
     
  6. TripleJ3EB

    TripleJ3EB Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2016
    Messages:
    10
    Location:
    Bolton, CT
    This is a similar concern that I have, that might be able to be solved the same way. My concern is that if I were to lose power while charging, that I do not want it to start charging again when power is restored to the charger because I could be on generator power, and do not want to run my generator to charge my X. I need it to know that it is not on street power and to not charge until street power is restored. (My generator is large enough to run the entire house and has a auto transfer switch).
     
  7. K-MTG

    K-MTG Sunshade Captain of TMC

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2015
    Messages:
    2,386
    Location:
    Irvine, CA
    For that can't you simply exclude the Tesla circuit from your backup panel so it is only tied to the grid?
     
  8. jeffreys

    jeffreys Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2015
    Messages:
    56
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    TripleJ3EB: Look into load shedding modules for your transfer switch. I had them installed for the 2 car charger circuits. In theory, my 20 KW automatic standby generator can power the whole house, but the car charger circuits are too much. In practice, I won't be using the steam shower, both AC units, and two electric ovens at the same time (especially since my only oven is gas at the moment). So there should be enough surplus power to charge the car. If that's the case, the car charging circuits will be energized. If not, they get automatically cut off.
     
  9. eloder

    eloder Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2015
    Messages:
    970
    Location:
    Ohio, USA
    Oh definitely.

    I'm not an expert, but that Dash trick was a pretty neat. When Dash buttons are unassigned they produce a distinct request that routers can pick up with ease, if set to look for it. That guy made a script that then looked for the Dash press, and then sent that information over to the Tesla side (I'm sure someone here has a ton more knowledge on how things can interact with Tesla Remote).

    IFTTT is really wonderful for letting different internet-connected devices work with one another. For example, my Amazon Echo has a voice command that'll let me change the temperature in my home. I'm not sure if there would be some sort of IFTTT device that'd help control current amperage.
     
  10. scaesare

    scaesare Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2013
    Messages:
    3,937
    Location:
    NoVA
    WK057 in his "home battery power" thread is modifying a HPWC with the goal of being able to intelligently manage power delivery based on his solar production, available battery capacity, etc...
     
  11. K-MTG

    K-MTG Sunshade Captain of TMC

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2015
    Messages:
    2,386
    Location:
    Irvine, CA
    Someone actually interstates with the echo recently, I saw a video on YouTube.

    - - - Updated - - -

    Can you please provide a link to the thread
     
  12. scaesare

    scaesare Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2013
    Messages:
    3,937
    Location:
    NoVA
  13. ohmman

    ohmman Maximum Plaid Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2014
    Messages:
    4,800
    Location:
    North Bay, CA
    K-MTG, if you're using the API (I seem to recall seeing you post on the telemetry thread), you can certainly do this. Use the API to start and stop charging of each vehicle separately. Use the feedback from your Eagle Energy Gateway or whatever else you need (who leaves first, for instance), to schedule and determine the amount of charge needed for each car.

    I'd control it from there using the start charging/stop charging calls, and completely remove scheduled charging from the vehicle control. Or just schedule it for later than when your home automation would already charge - that way it provides a failsafe.

    I've done the same thing with my pool. I tried using the scheduling mechanisms of the Jandy interface, along with some logic from my HA system, but in the end decided it's just best to control everything with my HA system.
     
  14. Chris1howell

    Chris1howell Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2011
    Messages:
    152
    Location:
    Los Angeles, California, United States
    There are several similar efforts to this going on in the OpenEVSE community.

    At Caltech in Pasadena there are 50+ stations going in, these stations share a pool of available energy and dynamically allocate capacity as needed.

    http://www.teslamotorsclub.com/showthread.php/58038-Free-Destination-Charging-50x-L2-80A-Stations-Caltech-Pasadena-CA

    The Wattzilla Duo by liquid sky, is a dual 80A charging station based on OpenEVSE it is avaliable with power sharing. The 2 stations share a single 100A circuit and dynamicly adjust power to 2 vehicles.
    https://www.wattzilla.com/index.html
     
  15. gavine

    gavine Petrol Head turned EV Enthusiast

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2014
    Messages:
    1,008
    Location:
    Southern New Jersey
    The Juicebox Pro (or two of them) might handle what you're looking for.

    Source: Electric Motor Werks, Inc. - JuiceBoxâ„¢ Pro 40 - 40-Amp Wi-Fi EVSE with 24-foot cable
    "

    1. If you have more than one EV,you can set up your two (or more) JuiceBox Pro units to share one electrical line! Say, you have only 60A remaining capacity in your panel but have two Teslas (lucky you!). You can program your JuiceBox Pro units to never exceed 60A combined draw. If only one car is charging, it gets full 60A of current. When the second car shows up, the current gets shared 30A / 30A between the two. When one of the cars finishes charging, the remaining car ramps back to 60A. This allows you to use your panel capacity most effectively, getting your cars charged quickly without worrying about overloads."
     
  16. K-MTG

    K-MTG Sunshade Captain of TMC

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2015
    Messages:
    2,386
    Location:
    Irvine, CA
    I would rather have direct integration with the Tesla using HPWC, I didn't know tesla had an API? Anything on Github or similar site?
     
  17. TripleJ3EB

    TripleJ3EB Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2016
    Messages:
    10
    Location:
    Bolton, CT
    I do not have a separate panel in the house that's not on the generator. This would require major work on my main panel to isolate it.
     
  18. K-MTG

    K-MTG Sunshade Captain of TMC

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2015
    Messages:
    2,386
    Location:
    Irvine, CA
    I am sure tesla will have to work something out when the powerwall is officially out
     
  19. TripleJ3EB

    TripleJ3EB Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2016
    Messages:
    10
    Location:
    Bolton, CT
    This is more about my propane supply. As I do not have natural gas in my neighborhood, I am forced to run from propane tanks, and I am worried that charging the car would exhaust my propane supply much quicker than I want.
     
  20. ohmman

    ohmman Maximum Plaid Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2014
    Messages:
    4,800
    Location:
    North Bay, CA

Share This Page