Welcome to Tesla Motors Club
Discuss Tesla's Model S, Model 3, Model X, Model Y, Cybertruck, Roadster and More.
Register

Gen. 3 Wall Charger change in behavior

This site may earn commission on affiliate links.
I have been using a Gen 3 wall charger for my model y for about 3 months. For the first 2 months, after plugging in the charge port light turned blinking blue for a second or two then turned blinking green when charging started. Now, when I plug in, the charge port light turns solid blue for 3-10 seconds (screen says "charging stopped), then turns blinking green and charges normally. Does this charge indicate any problem? Not sure if I should call Tesla. Anybody see anything similar?

Very interesting that we are experiencing this same behavior so thank you for posting about it because we were about to do the same. We are still seeking anyone's insight concerning this matter before submitting a service request. Fortunately it still charges our MYP with no apparent issues as far as we can tell but still don't like how the initial connecting charging behavior changed to what you described above. Our MYP is a June '22 build and delivery.

Reactions: OmegaMan
A solid blue light indicates that the Wall Connector is communicating with the vehicle. Try cycling the circuit breaker for the charging circuit and see if the Wall Connector continues to display the blue light for longer than it did when new. If you press the button on the Tesla charging connector while the Wall Connector is displaying the solid blue light the Wall Connector should immediately begin charging.