Welcome to Tesla Motors Club
Discuss Tesla's Model S, Model 3, Model X, Model Y, Cybertruck, Roadster and More.
Register

Good experience getting snow tires mounted

This site may earn commission on affiliate links.
Ordered new snow tires from Tire Rack and had them installed today at Discount Tire (which I guess is known as America's Tire Store in California). I was nervous because it's a Tesla, and kind of knew that things were a little different, but wasn't quite sure what to be worried about (or if I should be worried).

They seemed to know exactly what they were doing. They had me drive the vehicle into the bay myself (because Covid, I think), then he reminded me to put it into Jack Mode (which I didn't think of, because I'm a newbie). Rather than using the big floor lifts, they used 4 individual jacks, which I could see were definitely on the correct mounting points. They inflated the tires to 47 psi (why not 45, I'm not sure... but at least it wasn't the 'standard' 35 psi), and I even saw them using a torque wrench.

So I felt pretty good about it. Maybe since these cars have been out for a few years now, the big shops know what they are doing by now.

Reactions: f205v and EVortex
I use Discount Tire a lot (up in Northern Colorado aka Canada) on all of my Teslas and have always had great service. I also trust that if I'm ever traveling somewhere and have an issue a local Discount Tire will be just as friendly and helpful. They almost always seem to know how to handle a Tesla with much input or instruction from me which I really appreciate. Whenever you have to explain things to shops like this it's less than confidence inspiring.