TMC is an independent, primarily volunteer organization that relies on ad revenue to cover its operating costs. Please consider whitelisting TMC on your ad blocker and becoming a Supporting Member. For more info: Support TMC

Maps, traffic issue

Discussion in 'Model 3: User Interface' started by xwilsonx25, Jun 29, 2018.

  1. xwilsonx25

    xwilsonx25 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2018
    Messages:
    10
    Location:
    Orlando, FL
    Anyone else experiencing an issue with traffic data displaying on their maps? I have to zoom in and zoom out to “update” my map at times for traffic to appear. For reference I’m on 21.9
     

    Attached Files:

  2. halfricanguy

    halfricanguy MSM Model 3

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2018
    Messages:
    47
    Location:
    NC, USA
    I have been on the highway where the maps say there’s heavy traffic when there was virtually none. Next time I’ll try your trick and will see what happens.
     
  3. pdxgibby

    pdxgibby Software Engineer

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2015
    Messages:
    541
    Location:
    Tualatin, Oregon
    Are you running 24.1 firmware?

    Same problem in my Model 3 and Model S. Sometimes the traffic data is stale and a re-zoom or toggle of traffic data will force a reload of it.
     
    • Helpful x 1
  4. superlum

    superlum Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2016
    Messages:
    5
    Location:
    California
    I'm on 24.1 and having the same issues. I did a force reload and I still have issues with traffic updates
     
  5. pdxgibby

    pdxgibby Software Engineer

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2015
    Messages:
    541
    Location:
    Tualatin, Oregon
    Yes, I have to use the toggle traffic trick to get it to reload. It seems that navigation is also impacted. I've be routed around stale traffic information as well.
     
    • Helpful x 1
  6. Lloyd

    Lloyd Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2011
    Messages:
    5,728
    Location:
    San Luis Obispo, CA
    Ive been double checking it with my phone and find that it's not updated sometimes for many hours. Is Tesla trying to save $$$ by scrimping on the data delivered??? I'd be more than happy to pay for a data plan to make it more reliable.
     
  7. gregincal

    gregincal Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2012
    Messages:
    3,754
    Location:
    Santa Cruz, CA
    I think it's a display issue, not a download issue. For me I find I zoom in or out and the traffic updates, but often when I return to the original zoom level it displays the outdated traffic again.
     
  8. pdxgibby

    pdxgibby Software Engineer

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2015
    Messages:
    541
    Location:
    Tualatin, Oregon
    I got 2018.26 pushed to me yesterday. Problem still exists.
     
  9. PoitNarf

    PoitNarf The Clown Prince of Crime

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2016
    Messages:
    1,170
    Location:
    NJ
    Wait wait wait, 2018.26 on a Model 3? If so then you are the first confirmed case I’ve read about of a Model 3 getting that version. Could you please post screen shots of the release notes?
     
  10. pdxgibby

    pdxgibby Software Engineer

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2015
    Messages:
    541
    Location:
    Tualatin, Oregon
    2018.26 is on my Model S. Problem still exists.
     
  11. Altes

    Altes Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2016
    Messages:
    212
    Location:
    SF Bay area
    YES having same issues 24.1
     
  12. Chris Clark

    Chris Clark Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2016
    Messages:
    7
    Location:
    San Antonio
    If you switch to satellite view does the issue still persist?
     
  13. dano9258

    dano9258 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2018
    Messages:
    172
    Location:
    Las Vegas, NV
    I'm pretty sure they use Google maps for the traffic. It's not 100% accurate but a gauge.
     
  14. Lloyd

    Lloyd Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2011
    Messages:
    5,728
    Location:
    San Luis Obispo, CA
    Yes
     
  15. Lloyd

    Lloyd Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2011
    Messages:
    5,728
    Location:
    San Luis Obispo, CA
    Yes, but Tesla controls the rate and frequency of the updating of the data.

    I find that different zoom levels also do not agree. So some zoom levels update while others stay stagnant. They do not update unless you zoom way out and then back in or reboot the center screen. firmware 24.1
     
  16. SpudLime

    SpudLime Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2018
    Messages:
    515
    Location:
    Chantilly, Va (Loudoun)
    have you guys looked at the thread for Waze? A guy built an updated page that shows live traffic and icons from Waze. May be of help. Also Google gets its traffic from Waze and other sources. Since google owns waze, why not get it from the source?
    I know its not as nice for routing, but better IMO.
     
  17. Petesjca

    Petesjca Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2017
    Messages:
    10
    Location:
    San Jose, CA
    I live in the San Jose, CA and the area is surrounded by hills and mountains. I've found that when going out of the urban area the map disappears or doesn't update for a while. This is pretty frustrating if I'm out for a Sunday drive exploring and want to see where some back road goes. This has happened every time I'm a just a few miles out of the San Jose. Any ideas why this is happening? Can I expect this to happen every time I go for a drive???
     
  18. FloridaJohn

    FloridaJohn Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2016
    Messages:
    161
    Location:
    Palm Beach Gardens, FL
    Model 3 doesn’t have a web browser.
     
  19. SpudLime

    SpudLime Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2018
    Messages:
    515
    Location:
    Chantilly, Va (Loudoun)
    Well. I hope you get one soon.
     
  20. slipnslider

    slipnslider Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2016
    Messages:
    790
    Location:
    los angeles, ca
    Nav traffic problems. My car lead me straight into a traffic jam last night. The highway was green on the map screen, then I turn onto the entrance ramp and low and behold - the highway is a bumper to bumper traffic jam. I zoom the map in and out a little and it refreshes and the whole highway turns red. This is a repeated flaw that keeps happening. I'm on 26.3. Anyone else? This rarely happened to me when I just used the google maps app on my phone. Isn't tesla using that same data?
     

Share This Page

  • About Us

    Formed in 2006, Tesla Motors Club (TMC) was the first independent online Tesla community. Today it remains the largest and most dynamic community of Tesla enthusiasts. Learn more.
  • Do you value your experience at TMC? Consider becoming a Supporting Member of Tesla Motors Club. As a thank you for your contribution, you'll get nearly no ads in the Community and Groups sections. Additional perks are available depending on the level of contribution. Please visit the Account Upgrades page for more details.


    SUPPORT TMC