Welcome to Tesla Motors Club
Discuss Tesla's Model S, Model 3, Model X, Model Y, Cybertruck, Roadster and More.
Register

Model S - Coming out of Warranty - Canada

This site may earn commission on affiliate links.
Is it just me or does this one thread dispel the myth that you'll save on maintenance with a tesla? Yikes. I am looking at some used Teslas but this has scared me.

I am not sure because I think it is based on your ownership history and specific background. As I originally wrote, my background is from Lexus and Honda, both of which have excellent reliability, so I got used to NEVER needing repairs.

I had a 2008 Lexus IS350 and in my 9 years of ownership, other than regular maintenance (fluids), I had to do the brakes once and I never had another single issue. Not one.

With my Tesla, in 3 years of ownership, I have had about 5-6 needed repairs (Front Camera replaced, driver seat replaced, 12V battery replaced, trim fixed multiple times, driver door handle replaced etc...)

That's why I got my used S from Tesla directly as it comes with an additional 4 years and 80K km warranty. Problem solved.

I tried that route and finally gave up after weeks of chasing my tail. That was a horrible, horrible experience at trying to spend $80k on a used vehicle. I ended up buying from a (non Tesla) dealership near me that sells a lot of used Teslas. Unless they change up their methods I will probably never buy used directly from Tesla. It was pretty clear that they couldn't have cared less about the people looking at their used inventory. It took me over a week to even get a response back from them, let alone anything close to reasonable images. Also not being able to see the vehicle before you buy it is a total deal breaker for me. Might as well be buying a bridge in Brooklyn.