TMC is an independent, primarily volunteer organization that relies on ad revenue to cover its operating costs. Please consider whitelisting TMC on your ad blocker or making a Paypal contribution here: paypal.me/SupportTMC

OVMS blocked on low-cost AT&T plans

Discussion in 'Roadster' started by Curt, Nov 9, 2015.

  1. Curt

    Curt Roadster Signature #55

    Joined:
    May 13, 2013
    Messages:
    309
    Is it just me, or is everybody seeing gaps in OVMS app coverage?

    I've noticed over the weekend periods of up to five hours where I don't see my data updating in the app, then it works fine for a few hours. I'm still able to reach the car via SMS during these periods.

    Right now, my Roadster is parked in its usual spot, but the OVMS app hasn't seen an update in over two hours. I just got a "STAT" and a "GPS?" via SMS, and everything seems fine on my end.
     
  2. thefortunes

    thefortunes Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2013
    Messages:
    355
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    Just checked mine (also parked in my usual spot). No connection via the app, but sms "stat" gives me correct data.
     
  3. Curt

    Curt Roadster Signature #55

    Joined:
    May 13, 2013
    Messages:
    309
    …And now I've been getting updates in the app for the past 30 minutes.

    Odd behavior.
     
  4. Westworks

    Westworks New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2013
    Messages:
    3
    Location:
    Florida
    Is anyone still experiencing this. My app stopped working on 11/17 but SMS functionality remains?
     
  5. Habious

    Habious Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2014
    Messages:
    410
    Location:
    Springfield, VA
    App working fine here.
     
  6. Curt

    Curt Roadster Signature #55

    Joined:
    May 13, 2013
    Messages:
    309
    I'm still seeing a problem. SMS has continued working, but I haven't had an update of data in the app for the past 37 hours.
     
  7. thefortunes

    thefortunes Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2013
    Messages:
    355
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    Same here. 37 hours.
     
  8. supersnoop

    supersnoop Tesla Roadster #334

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2014
    Messages:
    825
    Location:
    Pflugerville
    Working find for me.
     
  9. shrink

    shrink Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2013
    Messages:
    556
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    I'm at 39 hours now without an update.
     
  10. slcasner

    slcasner Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2011
    Messages:
    563
    Location:
    Sunnyvale, CA
    Server access is working fine for me.
     
  11. thefortunes

    thefortunes Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2013
    Messages:
    355
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    Still off here.

    SMS work fine (MODULE, SERVER, GPRS commands all return correct info), but GSM/GPRS in the GPRS? command says not connected.
     
  12. markwj

    markwj Moderator, Asia Pacific

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2011
    Messages:
    3,664
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    Working fine for me, and server seems ok.

    For those with no connectivity, can you run through the steps here:

    Support FAQ | Open Vehicles

    and if still not working then let me have the responses to the SMS messages given there, to support at openvehicles dot com .
     
  13. shrink

    shrink Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2013
    Messages:
    556
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    Mark,

    Just ran a few SMS commands per your suggestion. I'm using an AT&T SIM card in the US:

    GPRS:
    APN:WAP.CINGULAR
    User:
    Password:
    GSM:AT&T
    GSM/GPRS: Not connected (0x0042)

    DIAG:
    RED Led:9
    GRN Led:5
    NET State:0x0042
    12V Line:11.4 ref=12.9
    Crashes:1
    ..last: TO - 54

    Any ideas based on that info?
     
  14. markwj

    markwj Moderator, Asia Pacific

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2011
    Messages:
    3,664
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    Best to email at support at openvehicles dot com

    Very hard to support from here, as don't want to accidentally disclose private information.

    From what you list, red:9 is tcp connect stage. The cellular model can't make a TCP/IP connection to the server. SERVER? will tell you where it is trying to connect to.

    Regards, Mark.
     
  15. Curt

    Curt Roadster Signature #55

    Joined:
    May 13, 2013
    Messages:
    309
    Hmmmm...

    Could it be that all of us having trouble connecting are on the AT&T $0.10/minute plan?

    I have just noticed some troubling new wording on my account page:

    …and
    [FONT=Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif][/FONT]​
    Could it be that AT&T has decided our OVMS modules are smartphones, and are denying us connection to their data service?

    If so, it might be time to switch to H2O (though I still have a balance of over $60 on the AT&T SIM).

     
  16. shrink

    shrink Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2013
    Messages:
    556
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    Curt, you might be right. That is indeed the plan I'm using. Will others on that plan chime in?
     
  17. thefortunes

    thefortunes Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2013
    Messages:
    355
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    Also on the AT&T $0.10/min plan.

    I have about $30 left (after using a bunch in the last couple days with SMS activity trying to figure out what is wrong). I expire early in January, so it is about time to switch over to H20 anyway.
     
  18. tvuolo

    tvuolo Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2013
    Messages:
    232
    Location:
    Colorado
    Also AT&T plan. No update in 3 days.
     
  19. Westworks

    Westworks New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2013
    Messages:
    3
    Location:
    Florida
    Also AT&T plan. Looks like that is it.
     
  20. tvuolo

    tvuolo Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2013
    Messages:
    232
    Location:
    Colorado
    So how do we explain to AT&T that these aren't smartphones? I recently refilled, and still have $90 on my plan.
     

Share This Page