TMC is an independent, primarily volunteer organization that relies on ad revenue to cover its operating costs. Please consider whitelisting TMC on your ad blocker or making a Paypal contribution here: paypal.me/SupportTMC

Repair advice: TPMS Needs Service

Discussion in 'Model S' started by apacheguy, Dec 24, 2015.

  1. apacheguy

    apacheguy Sig 255, VIN 320

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2012
    Messages:
    3,704
    Location:
    So Cal
    A couple days ago I started getting TPMS needs service. It was intermittent at first, but the error is now permanently displayed as soon as I press the brake to turn the car on. It's not practical for me to wait for an appointment with the SvC since it will probably be several weeks for the first available appt. and also I'm road tripping after Xmas. I've tried rebooting and I've also performed a TPMS reset.

    Is there anything I can do to clear the error message? Disable the TPMS all together, perhaps?

    Where can I locate the TPMS receiver module on a classic Model S?
     

    Attached Files:

  2. DougH

    DougH Active Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2015
    Messages:
    1,977
    Location:
    EARTH
    I think Tesla can reset this over the air, I had this issue with my first Tesla.
     
  3. Footbag

    Footbag Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2013
    Messages:
    487
    Location:
    Edmonton, Canada
    I had a TPMS module fail, and thus that same error message. We don't have a local SvC around here, but Tesla overnighted me the replacement part... any tire shop can do the install (just make sure you trust them).
     
  4. ggr

    ggr Roadster R80 537, SigS P85 29

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2011
    Messages:
    2,473
    It's most likely that the battery(s) in the sensor in one wheel has died. It's probably best to just replace all the batteries. Any tire shop should be able to do this.
     
  5. artsci

    artsci Sponsor

    Joined:
    May 10, 2012
    Messages:
    4,673
    Location:
    Timonium, Maryland
    The steps below should fix it, at least temporarily. But likely the error will keep reappearing until the system is upgraded.

    Model S touchscreen, touchControls > Settings > Service & Reset >Tire Pressure Monitor > Reset Sensors.



     
  6. apacheguy

    apacheguy Sig 255, VIN 320

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2012
    Messages:
    3,704
    Location:
    So Cal
    I reset the TPMS a second time through the controls screen and that's seemed to keep it happy for today at least. Most likely just a faulty sensor, so I'll have service take a look when it's convenient.

    Generally, I think it's great that alerts appear when issues arise. I really dislike fault suppression. However, in this case it would have been nice to have a "Dismiss message" option that would conceal it for a set amount of time.
     
  7. loganss

    loganss Spaceman

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2011
    Messages:
    486
    Location:
    Maryland
    @apacheguy: How many miles do you have on the original TPMS sensors? Mine started failing around 50k miles.

    I asked to get the TPMS disabled at the SvC but they couldn't since there is some sort of silly federal regulation staying all cars need that system now.

    Are you going to upgrade to the new TPMS sensors and antenna? I declined
     
  8. apacheguy

    apacheguy Sig 255, VIN 320

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2012
    Messages:
    3,704
    Location:
    So Cal
    Well, they replaced the sensors about 6 months ago with the Baolongs. I don't think I'll be upgrading to the newer system as it requires two receivers and a wiring harness installation.
     
  9. youlikeadajuice

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2012
    Messages:
    365
    Location:
    Bloomingdale, NJ
    Does anyone know if a generic tire shop can determine which wheel has the bad TPMS sensor, or will they have to replace all 4? This is for a classic model s that doesn't display the individual air pressure for each tire...I have aftermarket wheels and tires so I don't think Tesla will work on them.
     

Share This Page