TMC is an independent, primarily volunteer organization that relies on ad revenue to cover its operating costs. Please consider whitelisting TMC on your ad blocker or making a Paypal contribution here: paypal.me/SupportTMC

Tire Pressure Monitors

Discussion in 'Model S' started by Phoenixhawk101, Oct 16, 2016.

  1. Phoenixhawk101

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2015
    Messages:
    72
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    With winter coming I am buying a new set of wheels so that I can out snow tires on the car. Looking at a few places and it seems TireRack.com has the best selection. So I was planning to buy the wheels there and then get the tires themselves from the same tire place that has always done mine. So I got a quote this morning and the gentleman asked me if Tesla used a special Tire Pressure Monitor and how he goes about linking the monitor on the new wheels to the car.

    Anyone have any ideas?
    Does Tesla use a standard TPMS sensor?
    How does one link the sensor to the cars radio receiver to receive the pressure signals?
     
  2. Altes

    Altes Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2016
    Messages:
    28
    Location:
    SF Bay area
    According to what tire rack sold me and posts here sensors are std and on the model S you manually reset the sensors yourself when the new tires are on the car. Not sure if version 8 changes this or not
     
  3. Phoenixhawk101

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2015
    Messages:
    72
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    Manually how? I don't see any controls on the MCU for tire sensors.
     
  4. SD Diver

    SD Diver Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2016
    Messages:
    287
    Location:
    San Diego
    under settings there are options for a full factory reset and other. One of the others is for the TPS. I did it when swapping from 21s to 19s. Just make sure you have the right generation (classic S - no individual readouts - had to make sure I used the older sensors).
     
  5. Phoenixhawk101

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2015
    Messages:
    72
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    Thanks, after a little more searching I found the big button that says "Tire sensors" on the settings tab....I must just be blind.
     
  6. NOLA_Mike

    NOLA_Mike Active Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2013
    Messages:
    1,560
    Location:
    Hammond, LA
    Tesla changed TPMS systems from Balun to Continental somewhere around Model S VIN 50,000 (sometime in 2014 production). The newer style have the ability to display the individual tire pressures in the vehicle whereas the old style do not.

    You just need to make sure you get the correct sensors for your vehicle.
     
  7. GadgetGeek407

    GadgetGeek407 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2016
    Messages:
    45
    Location:
    Orlando, FL
    I have a 2013 P85 and have the light tire pressure system needs service, tried to reset through settings but got a message that reset could not be performed. What do you all recommend to get this fixed? Is it a sensor or the system? Any way of not going to Tesla since I am outside of warranty?
     
  8. theslimshadyist

    theslimshadyist NashVegas!

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2016
    Messages:
    660
    Location:
    Franklin, TN
    Did you reset when you were sitting in the vehicle and then started to drive? I believe that it won't start the calibration process until you are actually moving.
     
  9. djinn1

    djinn1 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2014
    Messages:
    36
    Location:
    Danville, PA
    Per @Nola make sure you have the correct tire sensors.

    I had a 2013 Tesla S, and snow tires rims and tire pressure monitoring system from tire rack.

    I then traded in for a 2016 S, and just put my snows and rims on, and got a tire pressure monitoring system error message. The old sensors are not compatible with the new sensor system in the newer model S. The only solution was to buy a completely new set of sensors for $200 from Tesla, now I have to have the old sensors taken off the tires and the new ones are installed. Total cost $300.

    Not particularly happy about this-I was hoping that the old sensors would be backwards compatible with the new tire pressure monitor system. Bottom line, make sure you're buying the correct tire pressure sensors from tirerack - Which depends on the Vin number of your tesla
     
  10. GadgetGeek407

    GadgetGeek407 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2016
    Messages:
    45
    Location:
    Orlando, FL
    good point, ill try this in a bit and report back
     

Share This Page