Welcome to Tesla Motors Club
Discuss Tesla's Model S, Model 3, Model X, Model Y, Cybertruck, Roadster and More.
Register

Understanding What PG&E Pay’s For Excess Solar?

This site may earn commission on affiliate links.
I am new to getting my Tesla solar and power walls installed now that I have PTO I am trying to understand my PGE bill.

I can’t wrap my head around what PGE does for excess solar power sent back to the grid.

Some places I read they give 3 cents a kwh sent back. Looking at a bill example they show online it appears to show more of a one to one ratio so if you use 10kw at peak from the grid but send back 10kw at peak it is a wash.
So is it a one to one or do I buy the 10kw at normal cost then sent back to them at 3 cents a kw?

Thanks in advance.

It's both. You get 1:1 credit for any generation that does not exceed your annual consumption. Over that, you get a credit of about 3 cents per kWh.

If you are with a Community Choice Aggregator for power generation they may buy the net generation at a higher rate. Silicon Valley Clean Energy buys the annual excess at the retail rates in the range of 6-8 cents/kWH.

Thank you for that helps.
I am in Castro Valley, Hayward area.

This leads to another question lets say I am +50 kw at peak and negative -50kw at non-peak. Do they close each other out?

I guess I am trying to figure out what the best route would be to save money. Because if they are 1:1 why would I fill and drain the power walls could I just leave them at 100% and use PG&E as the "power wall". Leaving the reserve at 100%?

Thank you for that helps.
I am in Castro Valley, Hayward area.

This leads to another question lets say I am +50 kw at peak and negative -50kw at non-peak. Do they close each other out?

I guess I am trying to figure out what the best route would be to save money. Because if they are 1:1 why would I fill and drain the power walls could I just leave them at 100% and use PG&E as the "power wall". Leaving the reserve at 100%?