Welcome to Tesla Motors Club
Discuss Tesla's Model S, Model 3, Model X, Model Y, Cybertruck, Roadster and More.
Register

Visiting Redwood National Park

This site may earn commission on affiliate links.
Hi,

I just got my Tesla so I'm new to the whole roadtrip with Tesla thing. I've tried to figure out if it's possible for me to get from a supercharger to Redwood national park and back to a supercharger but not sure if it's possible. I'm ok if I need to charge for a couple hours along the way (since we have to eat anyways) but I'm hoping I don't have to sit in a parking lot for 5 hours waiting for more charge. I have kids at the back so sitting idle for that long probably won't be fun for them.

Is this possible? I'm coming from Vancouver Canada and going to San Francisco so I thought it would be good to stop by Redwood National Park. But if there's no easy way to do it, I might just skip it.

Has anyone made a trip (e.g. day trip) to Redwood national park? Would be good to know what route you took.

Redwood National Park and the various units of the State Parks lie along US101 south of Crescent City. I would think that with the imminent completion of the Eureka Supercharger, you could make this trip worthwhile. It is 170 miles from Grants Pass to Eureka via US199 and US101. Most of the route from Grants Pass to Crescent City is downhill.

The parks are not contiguous; there are gaps among the various locations. Some have auto access. This might be a little tricky to calculate range. You could arrange to spend the night in Crescent City and charge up there (check PlugShare) to ensure leisurely exploration to reach Eureka. There are a few more State Parks south of Eureka where I suggest you depart US101 and take the "old road" SR254 that parallels 101. I think this parallel highway starts around Redcrest.