TMC is an independent, primarily volunteer organization that relies on ad revenue to cover its operating costs. Please consider whitelisting TMC on your ad blocker and becoming a Supporting Member. For more info: Support TMC

Can I route to specific supercharger destinations for a long trip?

Discussion in 'Model X' started by Insight75, Jul 24, 2017.

Tags:
  1. Insight75

    Insight75 Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2017
    Messages:
    52
    Location:
    Mount Olive, New Jersey
    Just back from a 1000 mile road trip from North Jersey to the Outer Banks in NC. Overall great experience. Before I left I put in the address to my destination....however, I didn't like the supercharger locations it was taking me to. (it actually changed the supercharger locations from the night before) Is there a way to route to superchargers of your own choosing instead of letting it do it for you? I ended up just putting in each supercharger location as the destination each time which kind of ruined the fun of seeing the stats for the overall trip at the end.
     
  2. mrElbe

    mrElbe Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2014
    Messages:
    1,154
    Location:
    Stouffville, ON Canada
    Since way-point routing is not available, your method of putting in each Supercharger as the next destination is the way to do it.
     
    • Informative x 1
  3. Insight75

    Insight75 Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2017
    Messages:
    52
    Location:
    Mount Olive, New Jersey
    Got it. Thought so. Just wanted to ensure I wasn't missing something.
     
  4. Lasttoy

    Lasttoy Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2017
    Messages:
    107
    Location:
    St Augustine, Fl
    I always do it, computer wants me to be empty when i pull in. No, trafic will kill u.
     
  5. FlyF4

    FlyF4 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2017
    Messages:
    348
    Location:
    Sparks NV (Giga-Town)
    This has been one of my complaints (and likely other people as well). Unfortunately, there is presently no way to do it except for the way you are doing it. Hopefully that will change in the future. It would be good for the map to allow selection of super-chargers along the route.

    I am always annoyed when I travel from Sparks down to San Diego that the X wants me to stop at the first supercharger even though I would still have over 150 miles remaining. I could easily reach the 2nd SC along the route and still have 90 miles remaining! Not sure why it makes the selections as it does. I'm going to ask around at the plant to see who knows and make a suggestion.
     
    • Like x 1
  6. ckwong

    ckwong Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2017
    Messages:
    159
    Location:
    Northern NJ
    I just did a 800 mile trip from NJ to falling water in southwestern PA. What I would do is to use A Better Routeplanner and locate all the superchargers I want to use first then in the MX GPS I input the destination address and turn on the "lighting bolt" on the screen to see all the superchargers and just click on the one I want and it will navigate to that one. My GPS doesn't pick a Supercharger for me or maybe I'm doing something wrong or don't have a specific setting on?
     
    • Like x 2
  7. kort677

    kort677 Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2015
    Messages:
    3,601
    Location:
    florida.
    I believe you can remove a charger stop from the route planner manually
     
  8. Xenius

    Xenius Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2015
    Messages:
    505
    Location:
    Havertown, PA
    The Nav software is one of my few complaints, and I'm just resigned to it. It is AWESOME, but could be so much better and more customizable.
     
    • Like x 1
  9. Peteybabes

    Peteybabes redneck drivin' a tesla...

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2016
    Messages:
    630
    Location:
    'murica
    you can...it will say "remove charging stops".

    once you tap that button it will go straight to the next supercharger, but give all sorts of scary messages about slowing down etc...lol :D
     
    • Like x 1
  10. HankLloydRight

    HankLloydRight Fluxing

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2014
    Messages:
    7,490
    Location:
    Connecticut
    When you input your final destination, the route it plans out includes superchargers, for sure, but it might not be obvious from the user interface. If you click the little map tile icon on the top right corner once or twice, it should show you the entire route with the supercharger stops it found for you. Now as mentioned, those might not be the ones you want to stop at, but the in-car nav should give you a decent route, including supercharges, if they are needed to get there.

    You can always tell this, because when you start such a route, the Nav ETA in miles and time is to the next supercharger, not your final destination unless you click on the button that says "show entire trip" or something like that.
     
    • Informative x 1
    • Like x 1
  11. Gwgan

    Gwgan Almost a wagon

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2013
    Messages:
    1,455
    Location:
    Maine
    Nav might know something you don’t. Checking against Waze and Google directions revealed that some differences may have been due to traffic or construction. For example, going south over NY city was via Tappan Zee midday midweek but going north Sunday evening was via the GWB (not a bad choice for that hour, I chose to go back north to cross at TZ and ran into a lot of construction delay).
     
    • Like x 1
  12. Peteybabes

    Peteybabes redneck drivin' a tesla...

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2016
    Messages:
    630
    Location:
    'murica
    good point, doesn't google use people's phone location and WAZE to come up with "traffic" info on the screen?

    i think it can re-route before we know that there's an issue...
     
  13. Mrcook4590

    Mrcook4590 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2017
    Messages:
    70
    Location:
    Virginia
    #13 Mrcook4590, Jul 25, 2017
    Last edited: Jul 25, 2017
    I don't fully trust the navigation to route me the quickest, most efficient way. I thought it would be fun one time to see the stats of how much battery I use on the way to a place I go all of the time. My X was trying to take me the loooonnnnggg way around and went from 45 minutes to an hour and 15 minutes. I always back up with Waze.
     
  14. ckwong

    ckwong Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2017
    Messages:
    159
    Location:
    Northern NJ
    I also use Waze as my primary GPS and in-car nav just to see what range I would have left
     
    • Like x 1
  15. TOBASH

    TOBASH Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2014
    Messages:
    375
    Location:
    New York
    With all due respect... I don't plan on inputting my "final destination" for a few years yet, (if ever).

    I believe "destination" is all I will ever type in.

    ;-)~~
     
    • Funny x 5
    • Like x 1

Share This Page