Welcome to Tesla Motors Club
Discuss Tesla's Model S, Model 3, Model X, Model Y, Cybertruck, Roadster and More.
Register

Charging anomalies M3 & Zappi

This site may earn commission on affiliate links.

Dilly

Feb 24, 2020
Norfolk
I’ve been charging EV’s for 7 years without issue, the Tesla for 4 years.

I had a new charge port fitted at the back end of last year and since last month, perhaps a shade earlier the car has randomly delayed charge. Usually it’s just a few minutes and then continues. Once it didn’t restart at all. Once it signalled charge complete when it was nowhere near.

Today charge completed at 11:47. The Zappi logs show no interaction with the car after this time.
At 16:07 the Tesla app notified charge complete (again!). No charge whatsoever had taken place. I’ve never seen this before.

There are no timers set, I’m not on IO and I have no voltage issues. The Zappi was new in November and all the log entries indicate it’s responding to what the car tells it.

I suspect a poor connection in the charge port or suchlike.

Anyone encountered similar?

Today charge completed at 11:47. The Zappi logs show no interaction with the car after this time.
At 16:07 the Tesla app notified charge complete (again!). No charge whatsoever had taken place. I’ve never seen this before.

I noticed last week or so that the charge completed notification was very late. It may have been a comms /api issue as iirc TeslaFi reported a phantom charge.

I say phantom charge as I checked my homebrew electricity monitor that spot measures every 5 minutes but also averages over that time and no evidence of any large power draw during that time.

But memory is a little vague so actually may be slightly different. I could double check logs if needed.

Dumb/in car scheduled charging fwiw.

I noticed last week or so that the charge completed notification was very late. It may have been a comms /api issue as iirc TeslaFi reported a phantom charge.