Welcome to Tesla Motors Club
Discuss Tesla's Model S, Model 3, Model X, Model Y, Cybertruck, Roadster and More.
Register

Forgive my ignorance, but... I have a question

This site may earn commission on affiliate links.
I’m not new to tech devices, or even EVs, but I’m new to Teslas. I’ve got less than 1k on my car, owned it for about 2 weeks. AP and FSD, Most recent update. Love the car, but occasionally I’m no sure what it is doing, or why.

Twice tonight while driving on I5 using NOA the car immediately to my left decided he wanted to drive next to me. He wasn’t doing anything wrong per se, but I consider it poor driver skills, etiquette etc to begin to pass a car only to slow and drive “shoulder to shoulder”, if you get my gist.

Normally I accelerate/decelerate so the likelihood of an inattentive driver crossing into my lane is avoided. Today I let the car do the driving. My car did an admirable job of staying in the center of the lane. I kept my hands very lightly on the wheel in case the dude next to or my car lost focus.

Eventually the car next to me turned red on the center screen. A message popped up on the screen, but honestly the writing is often too small, especially if the screen brightness is dimmed way down.

The car to my left might have been inordinately close to me. I think I had a car on my right also. I was passing the car on my right, the car on my left was just driving along my side.

I ended up accelerating away from the two cars.

this happened twice, but different cars, location on the freeway. Always on NOA.

• Disagree
Reactions: MarkBrokeIt
NoA's lane changing logic isn't really mature yet. It knows when it needs to be in a lane for an interchange, and it does okay on mostly empty roads, but it often makes odd choices in moderate or heavy traffic.