TMC is an independent, primarily volunteer organization that relies on ad revenue to cover its operating costs. Please consider whitelisting TMC on your ad blocker and becoming a Supporting Member. For more info: Support TMC

Heads up display

Discussion in 'Model 3: User Interface' started by Chickenlittle, Apr 28, 2018.

  1. Chickenlittle

    Chickenlittle Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2013
    Messages:
    2,506
    Location:
    Virginia
    has anyone installed a heads up display yet in their model3? If so which model, installation procedure and how did it work comments appreciated
     
  2. Lasttoy

    Lasttoy Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2017
    Messages:
    1,096
    Location:
    St Augustine, Fl
    I wish that was an option. I had it in my Vette. Loved it.
     
  3. PLUGZIN

    PLUGZIN Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2016
    Messages:
    111
    Location:
    Poway, California (San Diego)
    I have seen one advertised at Frys.com. It's made by Schosche and sells for about $69 when not on sale. The manufacturer's website says it connects via OBD; but I can't tell if it would work with any model Tesla. I'm posting the Schosche website link; not to advertise them or promote them. I'm only posting in case someone else has experience with that company or similar products.

    Car Heads Up Display | HeadsUp OBDII | HeadsUp | by Scosche

    I'm also posting a picture of the display from the Schosche website for info.
    Schosche HeadsUp.JPG
     
  4. aronth5

    aronth5 Long Time Follower

    Joined:
    May 8, 2010
    Messages:
    2,218
    Location:
    Boston Suburb
    I know this sounds harsh but don't care. There have many threads and hundreds if not thousands of posts about a HUD for the Model 3. I agree with Elon on this one.
     
    • Like x 2
  5. S4WRXTTCS

    S4WRXTTCS Active Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2015
    Messages:
    4,333
    Location:
    Snohomish, WA
  6. PLUGZIN

    PLUGZIN Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2016
    Messages:
    111
    Location:
    Poway, California (San Diego)
    I also don’t care for or need an HUD for my M3. I only posted as a courtesy to chickenlittle fo info.
     
  7. Big Earl

    Big Earl Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2017
    Messages:
    3,311
    Location:
    Springfield, VA
    That won’t work on a Model 3 because the car doesn’t provide an OBD2 data stream.
     
  8. TT97

    TT97 Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2017
    Messages:
    1,990
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    It comes with a 12v adapter so doesn't need the OBD2.

    Having said that - what's the point of this. You can get speed based on GPS which will not be as accurate as the car. Engine RPM doesn't apply (and would work only if attached to an OBD). The only other reading that could apply is temperature - don't really need to see on my windshield.

    I did see a HUD that will project you phone screen on to the windshield. Everything gets mirrored so you need HUD approved apps. If Waze ever designs a HUD setting, I would consider this.
     
  9. Chickenlittle

    Chickenlittle Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2013
    Messages:
    2,506
    Location:
    Virginia
    Thanks. Seen pictures too. Sony know if it just needs power or info from port. That's why I am curious where people have installed from. If just power could follow dashcam installs
     
  10. daniel

    daniel Active Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    3,899
    Location:
    Kihei, HI
    Before getting my Model 3 I was concerned about the lack of a speedometer in my line of sight. But it turns out that the speedo on the screen is visible enough not to be a problem. And with TACC, it's even less of a problem. No aftermarket HUD for me.
     
    • Like x 1
  11. SDKoala

    SDKoala Model 3 LR RWD

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2018
    Messages:
    752
    Location:
    San Diego
    I agree. No standard gauges and no HUD was initially a deal breaker for me, but after just a few weeks in the car, it's natural to look at the screen for the speedometer. I find myself doing it even in our other car that has a HUD.
     
    • Like x 1
  12. cellogig

    cellogig Model X..Model 3

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2018
    Messages:
    310
    Location:
    Near the BP oil spill
    I hardly look at the speedometer.
    If you are passing a lot of people...you must be speeding. If a lot of people are passing u,..you are most likely going the speed limit.
     
    • Funny x 3
    • Like x 1
  13. SDKoala

    SDKoala Model 3 LR RWD

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2018
    Messages:
    752
    Location:
    San Diego
    I agree, but that only works if you're in the middle of traffic on the freeway where relative speed is more important than actual speed. It doesn't work if your route is on surface streets notorious for speed traps.
     
    • Like x 2
  14. N8Howell33

    N8Howell33 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2018
    Messages:
    212
    Location:
    Salem, OR
    Agree 100%. Was concerned before getting it, now I see why you don't need it.
     
  15. daniel

    daniel Active Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    3,899
    Location:
    Kihei, HI
    That's what cruise control is for. And now that we have the right-hand scroll wheel for TACC settings, it's even easier. :)
     
  16. SDKoala

    SDKoala Model 3 LR RWD

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2018
    Messages:
    752
    Location:
    San Diego
    Right, but you still have to look at the speedometer, which was my original point.
     
  17. emden09

    emden09 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2019
    Messages:
    1
    Location:
    Germany
    I think the lack of a HUD for model3 is mainly a internationalization problem like e.g. Windows 3.11 had when developers and Product Managers not aware people in other countries for instance writing 1.000,00 Euro or 1’000.00 CHF and are thinking abt 1000 Euro or 1000 Swiss Francs.

    If youre driving a M3 in the US with highways going steady straight with speedlimit of 80 mph and „keep your lane“ policy you might find - as Elon does - that you dont need a HUD.

    If in oposite you re rinding the m3 - as I do - on a German Autobahn with „drive on the most righthand lane“ laws, many narrow turns right and left uphill and downhill and every km or so changing speedlimits I do realy miss the HUD of my BMW Model 535 (from 2004). Always dancing your Eyes forward and backward betweet the Lane you re driving on and the Display on the Middle of the Console does make my eyes getting tired fast. So I‘m glad that people here found some working solutions for this.

    Yes ELON, you are wrong on this as far as riding in Europe especially in Germany has to be mentioned. TESLA should realy have thought of an optional HUD for people who would even like to pay for this option, because they are in different Situations on their roads than Tesla Developers or Product Managers are aware of.
     

Share This Page

  • About Us

    Formed in 2006, Tesla Motors Club (TMC) was the first independent online Tesla community. Today it remains the largest and most dynamic community of Tesla enthusiasts. Learn more.
  • Do you value your experience at TMC? Consider becoming a Supporting Member of Tesla Motors Club. As a thank you for your contribution, you'll get nearly no ads in the Community and Groups sections. Additional perks are available depending on the level of contribution. Please visit the Account Upgrades page for more details.


    SUPPORT TMC