Welcome to Tesla Motors Club
Discuss Tesla's Model S, Model 3, Model X, Model Y, Cybertruck, Roadster and More.
Register

Help for a dissertation about Tesla

This site may earn commission on affiliate links.
Good evening everybody, i'm an italian student and i'm working on a dissertation for my degree at the university of economics. Since i've always had a big passion for motors i chose Tesla because of its status and its innovation in this sector. The subject of my dissertation is the importance of time factor in business strategy, in particular about Tesla. What i'm looking for is explaining how Tesla succeded when it first entered the market and how this success is related to its organizational structure and its business strategy. Is there anybody that can kindly provide me with some material for this dissertation? Thank you very much in advance for your disposability

...importance of time factor in business strategy...

Success Definition:
Maybe we need to define what "success" means for Tesla.

Many people would argue that Tesla is a failure, non-profitable, and going to be bankrupt soon.

That includes a very respectable former GM executive Bob Lutz:

Tesla just rolled out 2 new vehicles, but an ex-top GM exec thinks its 'going out of business'

TSLA has been the among most popular shorts:

Tesla is the biggest short in the US stock market

On the other hand, I would argue that Tesla is a success because:

1) It has kept on surviving despite critics
2) All U.S. car companies except for Ford and Tesla went bankrupt so far.
3) It has produced 4 different models and more in future
4) There have been more demands from consumers years after years
5) No problem with cashflow to pay bills despite lacking a profitable year so far
6) Persistence of Elon Musk who refuses to give up in very bad times and every time.
7) Cult follower.

Business Strategy:
Robinhood principle: Rob from the rich and give it to the poor.