TMC is an independent, primarily volunteer organization that relies on ad revenue to cover its operating costs. Please consider whitelisting TMC on your ad blocker or making a Paypal contribution here: paypal.me/SupportTMC

Locking the glove box. Interest?

Discussion in 'Model S: Interior & Exterior' started by Chris TX, Feb 17, 2015.

  1. Chris TX

    Chris TX Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2013
    Messages:
    1,486
    Location:
    Dallas, TX
    I've often wanted to lock the glove box for various reasons, even when the car was unlocked. There isn't currently a way to disable the glove box button on the touchscreen, so I did some investigation. I've found the connector to the actuator that opens the glove box, and it appears that it isn't controlled by the computer. It seems to have power only when the accessories are powered up. I'm in the process of sourcing the parts for this, but would anyone else like a pigtail that can be used for a hidden switch? This would be a kit where you unplug the actuator and install this harness inline. No splicing. There would be a decent amount of wire for you to run it to a hidden location with a switch (or IC controlled MOSFET) of your choice. I don't see this costing more than $40 shipped. It depends on how much the connectors are.
     
  2. markb1

    markb1 Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2012
    Messages:
    2,318
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    I'd really like something like this for the frunk, to prevent accidental opening. (I'm concerned if someone else, like a valet, accidentally opens the frunk, they aren't going to close it properly.)
     
  3. rekoh

    rekoh Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2012
    Messages:
    276
    Location:
    Minnesota
    I'd be interested!
     
  4. Chris TX

    Chris TX Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2013
    Messages:
    1,486
    Location:
    Dallas, TX
    While I have also witnessed a valet mashing all the buttons on my car's fob, pop the trunk, then make a horrible attempt to close it, I don't want to do anything to the frunk. I believe someone did make a keyfob holder that renders one or more buttons unusable. I would start there.
     
  5. markb1

    markb1 Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2012
    Messages:
    2,318
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    Yeah, I saw that. But I think a hidden switch would be a better solution.
     
  6. Chris TX

    Chris TX Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2013
    Messages:
    1,486
    Location:
    Dallas, TX
    I would also be hesitant to make something that could impede the access to the first responders' loop in the case of an accident.
     
  7. Danal

    Danal electricmotorglider.com

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2014
    Messages:
    431
    Location:
    Fairview, TX, United States
    Interested. In both (although I believe the newer cars do not have a frunk release??)
     
  8. markb1

    markb1 Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2012
    Messages:
    2,318
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    Don't want to derail your thread here, so just let me know I'll take it somewhere else. But I don't think first responders are going to be impeded. They will just use the lever under the glove box or force the hood open. I don't think they will want to waste time finding and figuring out the fob, or fiddling with the touch screen.

    - - - Updated - - -

    That's correct, but I think the frunk override would be useful with or without the manual release.
     
  9. Danal

    Danal electricmotorglider.com

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2014
    Messages:
    431
    Location:
    Fairview, TX, United States
    AH! To override the Fob! I get it now...

    Yes, that would be EXTREMELY useful. Maybe even more so than the glove box.
     
  10. Johan

    Johan Took a TSLA bear test. Came back negative.

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2012
    Messages:
    6,890
    Location:
    Drammen, Norway
    I was thinking today that the button and release for the glove box is obviously motorized so there could be a software option possible here: from the screen choose the option to lock the glovebox using a code, as you press the button (the physical button next to the screen) a query box pops up on the screen asking for your 4 digit code. Possible?
     
  11. Drucifer

    Drucifer Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2014
    Messages:
    1,015
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    Doesn't Valet Mode lock the glove box?

    Otherwise, if someone is going to break a window to get in, they are going to break the glove box lock.
     
  12. markb1

    markb1 Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2012
    Messages:
    2,318
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    Indeed.
     
  13. Johan

    Johan Took a TSLA bear test. Came back negative.

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2012
    Messages:
    6,890
    Location:
    Drammen, Norway
    Is Valet mode implemented?
     
  14. markb1

    markb1 Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2012
    Messages:
    2,318
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    Yes.
     
  15. Johan

    Johan Took a TSLA bear test. Came back negative.

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2012
    Messages:
    6,890
    Location:
    Drammen, Norway
    Oh cool, I haven't tested it yet. However I might want to have it locked without having the speed and acceleration of the car capped.

    The fact that Valet mode can lock it though proves beyond doubt that it can be software controlled. So it would be easy to make the kind of code lock function I'm asking for.
     
  16. Chris TX

    Chris TX Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2013
    Messages:
    1,486
    Location:
    Dallas, TX
    Yeah, this is a moot point now that Valet mode is here. It locks the glovebox and the frunk.
     

Share This Page