Welcome to Tesla Motors Club
Discuss Tesla's Model S, Model 3, Model X, Model Y, Cybertruck, Roadster and More.
Register

New Owner Here, Bought a 2013 S85 with Massive Issues and Need Guidance.

This site may earn commission on affiliate links.
Howdy guys!
Yesterday I achieved a milestone by buying my first Tesla, a 2013 S85 with 165k on it and a laundry list of issues. The car has been sitting "dead" for almost 9 months now after the previous owner got stranded in his work parking lot with it. The car is currently being towed cross country to me and I'm hoping to get prepared to start the diagnostic phase as soon as it arrives. Luckily for me my day job is in the salvage industry so I have access to a few S's for parts, which is the deciding factor in me purchasing this car. I'll try to make this post short, but my head is currently spinning with the amount of conflicting information online. I will make a list of the codes I know the car has currently displayed when hooked up to jumper cables (the 12v battery is completely smoked). I do know the LDU has coolant in it, I was able to get that checked on the initial purchase inspection. I have a pretty extensive automotive and electrical background (Xerox Engineer for 8 years of my life) so I'm hoping to conquer this car and get another notch in my belt.

Questions :)
1. What is the best course of action for diagnostics? I've been suggested a few different scanner setups but looking for a community consensus.
2. Can I force the air suspension to lift manually? This thing is sitting on the ground on all 4's and its making life rather difficult
3. 12v battery replacement... Parts store or do I "need" to get one from Tesla.

Current List of Codes
EAS_W007
DI_U014
BMS_F086
THC_W0105 (This went away with adding some coolant)
BMS_W026
BMS_W086
BMS_F086

Thanks in Advance for the help!

Reactions: paulchou and KJD