Welcome to Tesla Motors Club
Discuss Tesla's Model S, Model 3, Model X, Model Y, Cybertruck, Roadster and More.
Register

On Street Home Charging

This site may earn commission on affiliate links.
Hey,

Newbie here - thanks for accommodating this question. I'm considering switching to a Tesla from a BMW so I'm deep in research mode.

I live in Bristol - a typical Victorian/Edwardian street. I don't have a driveway; I'm on a corner, so I have a road out front and down the side of my house. I can physically install a home charger unit on my front or side wall.

Questions that naturally follow:

Is there anyway to secure a home charger so that another BEV couldn't charge without permission?
How do I work with the cable? I can't have it crossing the path as it'd be a trip hazard
Are there long cable versions so I have some flexibility on where I park?

I'm sure I can't be alone in living in a terraced house and wanting to own a Tesla. Thanks!

Best bet is to talk to your local authority and see if they will agree a safe way to run a cable to the car. Some local authorities (Hampshire, for example) will allow a suitably protected and trip hazard resistant cable to be laid across a pavement, most won't (yet).

There are ways to safely run a cable across a pavement, but the local authority has to approve them, and it seems many are reluctant to do this. Solutions range from using rubber cable protectors, as used in workplaces to reduce trip hazards, through to persuading the local authority to let you run a channel across the pavement. I think the latter is a better solution, as a channel with a hinged lid to allow access for the cable, is probably the safest way to do this.