Welcome to Tesla Motors Club
Discuss Tesla's Model S, Model 3, Model X, Model Y, Cybertruck, Roadster and More.
Register

Part-Ex Experiences

This site may earn commission on affiliate links.
Hi all,

Newbie here trying to get my head around the various hurdles and challenges before I take the plunge with a new M3P!

I currently have an ICE which is coming to an end on its PCP deal and I will hopefully be replacing it with an M3P (thinking in MSM but haven't yet decided).

I went to the Tesla SC in Stockport (Manchester) yesterday and explained that my current car goes back in April next year - the kind gent advised that with delivery lead times being between 1&3 months it is too early to place an order. He suggested that I look at putting a deposit down in January (not sure if this is consistent with others in terms of lead times?).

Anyway - On the way home from the dealership I was then thinking about potentially doing a part-ex with my current car and have a few questions that I am hoping this very knowledgeable community will be able to help with!

Here goes...

1. How have people found the part-ex process? Is it slick and relatively pain free?
  2. I have never part-ex'd a car that is on a PCP deal before so forgive me for my naivety - How would the part-ex process work with a car that is on a PCP deal? (i.e. there will obviously be finance outstanding on the car so will Tesla pay this finance off, or will they just deduct the value of the ICE from the price of the M3P and leave me to source the funds to pay off the finance?)
  3. Have Tesla honoured the valuation that they have given via the online request? If not then what has been their reasoning?

All advice, guidance, direction is greatly appreciated :)

TN