Welcome to Tesla Motors Club
Discuss Tesla's Model S, Model 3, Model X, Model Y, Cybertruck, Roadster and More.
Register

Spotify

This site may earn commission on affiliate links.
Question from user that ordered, but have not yet taken delivery.

The car supports spotify, but am i in need of a spotify account or is it "included" ?

Have read conflicting reports, some say it is included with the premium, some are more vague.

I have a subscription to a domestic "Spotify'alike" service in my home country, but i would be right in assuming that i can not use that ? (Previous car had Android Auto, and that streaming service worked fine through AA) (I have a subscription = Subscription is part of the work subscription for my mobile phone)

So, what is the correct answer :)

You can find multiple online promotion offers good for 2 months free Spotify Premium when you sign up. Paypal has an offer of 3 months free Spotify premium.

Also, Tesla now supports Apple Music and Tidal, both of these are premium services that require accounts.

Reactions: hmadsen
You need an account. Free version isn’t good enough. Has to be premium.
Okay, that makes sense.

Will probably not buy it, here it cost about $14 a month, and i don't see myself using it so much that i can justify the price.

If i want streaming music, i can just use the subscription to the service i have, and play that through bluetooth.

It seems, they have tunein radio, i have used that app before to stream radio stations, so i'll probably go with that for my daily commute.

But again, thanks for clearing this up, this crosses one of the things i was wondering about, off of the list :)

Several hacks (alledgedly) to that though:

1) BT connect your phone, stream free Spotify from there.
2) Download whatever you want via free spoty to a USB thumb drive, connect same to load into car.

Disclaimer: Have done none the above. Car sitting in a shed hiding from wife until Tuesday.