TMC is an independent, primarily volunteer organization that relies on ad revenue to cover its operating costs. Please consider whitelisting TMC on your ad blocker or making a Paypal contribution here: paypal.me/SupportTMC

The TDC in a Model X?

Discussion in 'Model X: User Interface' started by garygid, Feb 23, 2016.

  1. garygid

    garygid Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2014
    Messages:
    612
    Location:
    Laguna Hills, Orange County, CA
    Where is the TDC (Tesla Diagnostics Connector) in the Model X?

    Is it the same 12-pin rectangular Amp connector as used on the Model S?

    Are the same signals (four CAN buses) on the same pins as in the MS?

    Any hints welcome. Thanks, Gary
     
  2. Chris TX

    Chris TX Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2013
    Messages:
    1,482
    Location:
    Dallas, TX
    Not sure if you still need this info, but I was playing with an X today with TM-Spy. Pop it down, pull it out, grab the cables, plug it in. And this is the newer Sumitomo connector, not the Amp one from pre-Sept 2015.
     

    Attached Files:

    • Informative x 1
  3. garygid

    garygid Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2014
    Messages:
    612
    Location:
    Laguna Hills, Orange County, CA
    Thanks for the very helpful pictures and info ... much appreciated.

    Is there sufficient room above the X's cubby for the adapter cable and the longer ELM dongle that you show, to have it work with the cubby completely back in place?

    Will you sell some TMC-X connectors (how many did you have to buy) and pins to me, please?
     
  4. Chris TX

    Chris TX Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2013
    Messages:
    1,482
    Location:
    Dallas, TX
    I can do one better and make a universal cable that connects to power and all four CAN busses, if you want. These smaller pins are a pain to deal with.
     
  5. garygid

    garygid Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2014
    Messages:
    612
    Location:
    Laguna Hills, Orange County, CA
    #5 garygid, May 16, 2016
    Last edited: May 16, 2016
    Ok, that might work, thanks.
    However, I already have the TDC-S and OBD connector shells and pins.
    I also want to make several for friends with just CAN3 and Power.

    I am thinking of using:
    1. individual wires, stranded for flexability,
    2. wires about 6 inches long so the dongle can be hidden above the cubby,
    3. use the largest diameter wire that the pins will properly crimp to, for strength.
    4. use the wires in twisted pairs, like one black for Ground and for each CAN-Low,
    5. and then other wire of the pair some other color, like red for the Power, and ...
    6. four other colors for each CAN-High (or maybe one color if all the wires are fully visible from pin to pin).

    I want it easy to identify wiring correctness before plugging in the pins to the connectors,
    and easy to check the adapter's wiring visually, after assembly, before using it.

    Then ... the basic TM-Spy adapter wiring would be like this:
    1. Power to pin OBD 16 and Ground to OBD pin 4.
    2. CAN3 (Powertrain) to the standard OBD pins 6 and 14 for the dongle (the LEAF's CAR-CAN bus),

    And the additional three CAN buses for full logging ... what do you think?
    3. CAN? (Chassis) to the LEAF's EV-CAN bus pins, ? and ?,
    4. CAN? (Body) to the LEAF's AV-CAN bus pins, ? and ?,
    5. CAN? (Body Test) to the CAN pins used on the Tesla OBD, pins 1 and 9.

    At the moment, I have forgotten the (?) values.
     
  6. Chris TX

    Chris TX Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2013
    Messages:
    1,482
    Location:
    Dallas, TX
    That's what I was thinking, but have the individual CAN buses be twisted pairs. It doesn't matter on the power since it's DC. I've made some CAN harnesses for others, similar to this. This kind of cable requires more of the smaller pins than the normal bus 3-OBD2 cables I've made, and they are quite hard to come by. Let me see about getting some more for this.
     
  7. garygid

    garygid Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2014
    Messages:
    612
    Location:
    Laguna Hills, Orange County, CA
    Twisted pair on the power & ground is to keep other noise out, not to keep noise in.

    Yes, I want to gently twist all the two, or five, pair.
    In 6 inches, that is only about 3 twists.

    I assume that you are talking about pins for the TDC-X.
    Aren't there two pin sizes required on that connector, larger for Power and Ground?
     
  8. Chris TX

    Chris TX Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2013
    Messages:
    1,482
    Location:
    Dallas, TX
    Yes, for the TDC2 (Sept 2015+) connector, the power pins are larger than the communication pins. TDC1 (Pre-Sept 2015) is all the same size.
     

Share This Page