TMC is an independent, primarily volunteer organization that relies on ad revenue to cover its operating costs. Please consider whitelisting TMC on your ad blocker and becoming a Supporting Member. For more info: Support TMC
Start a Discussionhttps://teslamotorsclub.com/tmc/tags/

Touchscreen refresh rate change 17.5.28

Discussion in 'Model S: User Interface' started by Joe F, Feb 5, 2017.

  1. Joe F

    Joe F Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2016
    Messages:
    502
    Location:
    Willow Grove, PA
    Noticed the touchscreen is strobing when taking a picture of it after installing 17.5.28. I did not see this on 2.50.180 or 17.3.2.

    Not a big deal, but odd the refresh rate was changed. Here's a visual:

    17.5.28

    IMG_2638.JPG

    VS 17.3.2

    IMG_2416.JPG
     
  2. lunitiks

    lunitiks ˭ ˭ ʽʽʽʽʽʽʽʽʽ ʭ ʼʼʼʼʼʼʼʼʼ ˭ ˭

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2016
    Messages:
    1,739
    Location:
    Prawn Island, VC
    Seriously!? Why on earth would they do this! Others please chime in
     
  3. mblakele

    mblakele radial cross member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2016
    Messages:
    564
    Location:
    SF Bay Area
    I suspect it has something to do with auto-brightness adjustment. I used to notice strobing or flickering with my 2016-Q1 MCU right after I parked in the work garage. That seems to have gone away sometime in the past few months. Maybe there are several different MCU hardware configurations out there, and Tesla fixed a bug with one configuration while creating a problem with another?
     
  4. chillaban

    chillaban Active Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2016
    Messages:
    2,059
    Location:
    Bay Area
    What you are seeing is almost certainly due to brightness variance resulting in your camera not being able to detect the refresh rate.

    Note that modern camera ISPs are actually compensating for strobe effect of refresh rates.
     
  5. Joe F

    Joe F Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2016
    Messages:
    502
    Location:
    Willow Grove, PA
    Good point. Thanks! Will have to check it later.

    I did turn the brightness down last night...
     

Share This Page