Welcome to Tesla Motors Club
Discuss Tesla's Model S, Model 3, Model X, Model Y, Cybertruck, Roadster and More.
Register

Wall charger/Battery installation

This site may earn commission on affiliate links.
Is there any advantage for installing the wall charger + battery at once? I'm planning to install solar PV + battery but it seems it won't happen for months to come (contractor fully booked),so I wonder if I should install the wall charger first?

Also - do I buy the charger from Tesla first, and find a contractor to install it, or should I go to a contractor first, and order afterwards?
Do I go to the energy supplier after the installation? Or should I revise my energy plan first?

Total noob on EV charging, all comments/advice welcomed. Thanks in advance.

If you're planning to charge the EV with excess solar, then avoid the Tesla Wall Charger - it does not support this automatically. Go for something like a MyEnergi Zappi. Have it installed first, and ask the installer to add a CT clamp (or a Harvi, if wiring is an issue) to the meter tails in readiness for when your solar is installed.

If you're planning to charge the EV with excess solar, then avoid the Tesla Wall Charger - it does not support this automatically. Go for something like a MyEnergi Zappi. Have it installed first, and ask the installer to add a CT clamp (or a Harvi, if wiring is an issue) to the meter tails in readiness for when your solar is installed.
Another vote here for the Zappi. I have a First Gen Zappi for 4 year and it has worked faultlessly. The front cover became discoloured and cracked and Myenergi sent a replacement free of charge even though the unit was out of warranty!

I am surprised - Tesla wall charger won't work with excess solar? Do you mean it'd only work if I get the Powerwall/battery?