TMC is an independent, primarily volunteer organization that relies on ad revenue to cover its operating costs. Please consider whitelisting TMC on your ad blocker or making a Paypal contribution here: paypal.me/SupportTMC

What does this wire connect to?

Discussion in 'Model S' started by curt_toolman, Nov 16, 2014.

  1. curt_toolman

    curt_toolman Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2014
    Messages:
    28
    Location:
    Springfield, VA
    Does anyone know what this wire connects to?


    20141101_130703.jpg
     
  2. Drtadakichi

    Drtadakichi Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2014
    Messages:
    34
    Location:
    United States
  3. Duckjybe

    Duckjybe S P232

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2012
    Messages:
    689
    Location:
    Oakville, Canada
    Thats the vicinity of my homelink antenna. Its a plastic piece with circular hole in it. I don't remember the connector being that large though when a last had my frunk apart.
     
  4. Drtadakichi

    Drtadakichi Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2014
    Messages:
    34
    Location:
    United States
    #4 Drtadakichi, Nov 17, 2014
    Last edited: Nov 17, 2014
    Homelink module is on the other side and does not have an antenna, and that harness tail is too short to reach.

    Also, what color are the wires on the connector.
     
  5. Duckjybe

    Duckjybe S P232

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2012
    Messages:
    689
    Location:
    Oakville, Canada
    Right, thanks for clarification.
     
  6. curt_toolman

    curt_toolman Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2014
    Messages:
    28
    Location:
    Springfield, VA
    connector.jpg P01575 Also here is another picture. I'm wondering if it is a connector that isn't used in my model. I have a 85 S with the tech package.
     
  7. Duckjybe

    Duckjybe S P232

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2012
    Messages:
    689
    Location:
    Oakville, Canada
    Are you the same curt_toolman from the Volt forum who modified their Volt? I converted my Volt to an Ampera as well. You doing another mod?
     
  8. curt_toolman

    curt_toolman Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2014
    Messages:
    28
    Location:
    Springfield, VA
    LOL, yes it is me. I wanted to paint the black grill silver on Model S but now I think I have an extra wire.
     
  9. Duckjybe

    Duckjybe S P232

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2012
    Messages:
    689
    Location:
    Oakville, Canada
    Did you buy a salvage car?
     
  10. Drtadakichi

    Drtadakichi Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2014
    Messages:
    34
    Location:
    United States
    #10 Drtadakichi, Nov 19, 2014
    Last edited: Nov 19, 2014
    I would say so long as your homelink works, your parking sensors (if equipped) works, RKE at the front of your vehicle, and you aren't throwing any alerts, you are ok.


    Also, Don't buy salvage Model S... all bad.

    AHA, okay, pulling out a frunk.. its connected to the secondary release latch of the frunk.
     
  11. EarlyAdopter

    EarlyAdopter Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2012
    Messages:
    2,497
    Location:
    Redmond, WA
    I've gone in behind the dash and found no fewer than a half dozen unconnected wire headers there, so there's no telling. Probably nothing.
     
  12. Drtadakichi

    Drtadakichi Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2014
    Messages:
    34
    Location:
    United States
    Its this way for most manufacturers, all the harnesses are there for all the packages, they just need the hardware to plug into.
     
  13. curt_toolman

    curt_toolman Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2014
    Messages:
    28
    Location:
    Springfield, VA
    it's a friend of mines, which was in a minor accident.

     
  14. Drtadakichi

    Drtadakichi Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2014
    Messages:
    34
    Location:
    United States
    There is a thread on here about a salvage car... basically, with a salvage vehicle, you get cut off from Tesla. Best I can figure they don't want you to mess up their superchargers with damaged hardware or hurt yourself with leaking HV. Plus if you need to replace almost ANYTHING, you need factory software to update it, and no I am not talking about optional updates, I mean for it to talk to the car and allow it to function.
     

Share This Page