TMC is an independent, primarily volunteer organization that relies on ad revenue to cover its operating costs. Please consider whitelisting TMC on your ad blocker and becoming a Supporting Member. For more info: Support TMC

Wifi connectivity issues with NEW MCU

Discussion in 'Model S: User Interface' started by Cardiac, Mar 26, 2018.

  1. Cardiac

    Cardiac Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2018
    Messages:
    15
    Location:
    Newport
    I picked up my 100D on friday.... ive yet to be able to connect with my wifi.... have any new owners experienced this? Tesla service has just informed me that Tesla engineers are working on a firmware fix.....fwiw
     
  2. Arrowpine

    Arrowpine Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2018
    Messages:
    34
    Location:
    Huntsville, AL
    Yes, same issue. Does summon work via app?
     
  3. Silent Ludicrosy

    Silent Ludicrosy Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2018
    Messages:
    697
    Location:
    Phoenix
    Same for me. I picked mine up Monday.
     
  4. PiercePeniless

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2018
    Messages:
    17
    Location:
    Pasadena
    75D I collected on Friday now has the “Initializing Wi-fi” spinning ball. Service told me they’re aware and working on the fix.
     
  5. PiercePeniless

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2018
    Messages:
    17
    Location:
    Pasadena
    Software update resolved wi-fi issue. :)
     
  6. Silent Ludicrosy

    Silent Ludicrosy Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2018
    Messages:
    697
    Location:
    Phoenix
    Same for me. I updated to 10.6 and did the scroll wheel reboot, then wifi connected right away.
     
  7. Goofykiller

    Goofykiller Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2018
    Messages:
    80
    Location:
    Texas
    Before the update, my previous version was already 10.6, this time is just the behind minor version got changed.
     
  8. GabeX

    GabeX Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2018
    Messages:
    63
    Location:
    Irvine, CA
    I had the same issue yesterday after doing the scroll wheel reboot. I ended up doing the hard reboot (scroll wheel while pressing the brakes) and the wifi connected to my home network after.

     
  9. boaterva

    boaterva Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2016
    Messages:
    7,465
    Location:
    Northern Virginia, USA
    Just as a note, I always reboot after a software update. It has fixed many things that were there after a normal installation. One thing is that is redoes the the Wifi and VPN connection to the mothership. (I had overcharging after 2017.10 and the reboot fixed it.)

    And, BTW, there is no additional 'benefit' to stepping on the brakes when rebooting the MCU. The scroll wheels do all the 'work'. The brake pedal will wake it up if for some reason it doesn't on its own. But there is no 'brake pedal' reboot. There has never been a confirmed 'better reboot' using the pedal.
     
    • Informative x 1
  10. pan

    pan Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2014
    Messages:
    42
    Location:
    Lafayette, CO
    If ou have the new MCU2 and the latest software 2018.12 you still cannot reboot th center console. According to Tesla that capability has not been implemented.
     
    • Informative x 1
  11. boaterva

    boaterva Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2016
    Messages:
    7,465
    Location:
    Northern Virginia, USA
    Yeah, I’m seeing those reports of the missing ability to reboot. Seems very strange that the basic capability would be missing.

    Guess you can still turn it off and on from the main menu!
     
  12. pan

    pan Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2014
    Messages:
    42
    Location:
    Lafayette, CO
    According to Tesla support the power off button on the setting page is not like a reboot. They described it as putting the car to sleep.
     
  13. boaterva

    boaterva Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2016
    Messages:
    7,465
    Location:
    Northern Virginia, USA
    #13 boaterva, Apr 1, 2018
    Last edited: Apr 1, 2018
    Well, when reboots didn’t work for the 2017.42 AP 2.5 bricking, they suggested it. :D And for those that can’t reboot, not many other choices, are they?

    Try it yourself. The MCU comes on the same as a reboot. Looks like a reboot to me. But who knows what’s going on internally. It looks in both cases like you are pulling the power from it and restarting it. One may or may not be doing more in the sense of clearing things, you are correct there.
     
  14. Thormark

    Thormark Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2014
    Messages:
    35
    Location:
    NY, USA
    I picked up new model S100D Friday. MCU2. Firmware 2018.10.6 b532133. I’ve noticed several problems. Have called Support several times. They said these problems are widespread and they are working on a fix.
    Problems:
    1. Can’t do steering wheel soft reset
    2. Can’t connect to Wi-Fi
    3. Charging fault where the car falsely reports that there is something wrong with my charging cable ( I have tested this at two different charging locations with same result and charging worked fine on the 85D I traded in on Friday).
    4. Intermittent loss of all sound from the car including music from various sources and sound associated with turn signals.

    My complaints have been “escalated” to engineering. The problem with charging seemed to get their attention since that would be a killer.

    The good news is that AP works better in the new car then in my old 85D HW1 MCU1 car (and it will keep improving ). The second good news is that I’m sure they will work this MCU2 stuff out in the next days and weeks although it will probably take longer than customers want.
     
    • Informative x 2
  15. pan

    pan Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2014
    Messages:
    42
    Location:
    Lafayette, CO
    I’m surprised you weren’t updated to 2018.12 before you left the delivery center. You should get a software update to at least this level soon.
     
  16. Goofykiller

    Goofykiller Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2018
    Messages:
    80
    Location:
    Texas
    I have the new MCU. I have the same 1,2,4 issues, plus I couldn't turn on the dashboard screen twice already, called support, they said a new firmware update for the issue is already slowly getting out .
    I have a service appointment tomorrow, so I will see if they get it updated tomorrow manually .
     
  17. Naekuh

    Naekuh Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2018
    Messages:
    400
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    On the new MCU's its not a reboot.
    The moment you open your door, the screen resumes exactly where you left off.
    A Reboot would mean you see the tesla logo flash at start on the screen, which we dont when using that shutdown option.

    So far the only real reboot i know of is what the tech agent did, and its called a hard reboot which involves pulling the battery.

    You probably cant use summon via phone App either.
    You may want to check on that.

    You can use summon via key fob if you disable the "while pressed" option.
     
    • Informative x 1
  18. boaterva

    boaterva Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2016
    Messages:
    7,465
    Location:
    Northern Virginia, USA
    Thanks for the info. If there’s really no way for the user to reboot a MCU2 car’s MCU, that is a mess. Hope that’s fixed ASAP!
     
  19. Thormark

    Thormark Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2014
    Messages:
    35
    Location:
    NY, USA
    Correct - No summon from app. I haven't bothered testing the fob summon.
     
  20. mknox

    mknox Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2012
    Messages:
    10,103
    Location:
    Toronto, ON
    I updated to 10.6 (new MCU) and no longer can reboot no matter how long I press the scroll wheel buttons.
     

Share This Page

  • About Us

    Formed in 2006, Tesla Motors Club (TMC) was the first independent online Tesla community. Today it remains the largest and most dynamic community of Tesla enthusiasts. Learn more.
  • Do you value your experience at TMC? Consider becoming a Supporting Member of Tesla Motors Club. As a thank you for your contribution, you'll get nearly no ads in the Community and Groups sections. Additional perks are available depending on the level of contribution. Please visit the Account Upgrades page for more details.


    SUPPORT TMC