TMC is an independent, primarily volunteer organization that relies on ad revenue to cover its operating costs. Please consider whitelisting TMC on your ad blocker and becoming a Supporting Member. For more info: Support TMC
Start a Discussionhttps://teslamotorsclub.com/tmc/tags/

2.24.102 and Touch Screen Malfunction

Discussion in 'Model S' started by MDMGSO47, Jul 7, 2016.

Tags:
  1. MDMGSO47

    MDMGSO47 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2016
    Messages:
    364
    Location:
    Greensboro, NC USA
    We installed 2.24.102 successfully on Tuesday. The DRLs now works. Yeah!!! Today. Thursday, we had to reboot the touch screen on two separate occasions due to a warning that the touch screen had malfunctioned and please call Tesla service. Anyone else having a similar problem?
     
  2. SoccerMan94043

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2016
    Messages:
    171
    Location:
    San Jose
    I did. I left my car at the airport overnight and when I returned to the car, it showed that I had an update available, but I've already received 2.24.102. Then I notice an error message on the console saying my touch screen isn't working and I need to call service.

    I rebooted the screen and the console, everything worked as normal but the update message disappeared.
     
  3. 3s-a-charm

    3s-a-charm Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2014
    Messages:
    1,767
    Location:
    Calgary, Canada
    I had that happen (actually my wife did when she got in to use the car). Rebooted and never happened again.
     
  4. 3s-a-charm

    3s-a-charm Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2014
    Messages:
    1,767
    Location:
    Calgary, Canada
    Did it show an update available or just the "!" icon at the top? That icon displays when you have an update and when there is a warning signal in the car.
     
  5. 3s-a-charm

    3s-a-charm Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2014
    Messages:
    1,767
    Location:
    Calgary, Canada
    The exact message was "Touchscreen Needs Service - Contact Tesla Service" (she took a picture of it and sent it to me).
     
  6. SoccerMan94043

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2016
    Messages:
    171
    Location:
    San Jose
    It was the "!"... the touch screen wasn't functional so I never got past that.
     
  7. msnow

    msnow Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2015
    Messages:
    4,962
    Location:
    SoCal
    Thumbdrive in USB?
     
  8. cochese

    cochese Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2015
    Messages:
    35
    Location:
    CA
    Just today the SC told me the repeated "touchscreen failure" messages were due to me having a USB thumb drive attached. Such BS. Seriously? For a high tech company who sells a lot of cars to engineers, I'm shocked at these responses that basically assume we are idiots.
     
  9. 3s-a-charm

    3s-a-charm Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2014
    Messages:
    1,767
    Location:
    Calgary, Canada
    No thumb drive...
     
  10. MDMGSO47

    MDMGSO47 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2016
    Messages:
    364
    Location:
    Greensboro, NC USA
    I have a thumb drive attached. However, it has been attached since day one, and we never had any "touchscreen failure" messages until installing 2.24.102
     
  11. MDMGSO47

    MDMGSO47 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2016
    Messages:
    364
    Location:
    Greensboro, NC USA
    #11 MDMGSO47, Jul 11, 2016
    Last edited: Jul 11, 2016
    I contacted Tesla Service and was told that my USB drive was defective, which was causing the screen to malfunction. This is very strange since I have used the same USB drive since I received the car, and never had a problem until I uploaded 2.24.102. I checked the USB drive on another computer, and it works fine. I gave it to my IT department and they could find nothing wrong with it.

    On the one hand, 2.24.102 enabled my DRLs. On the other, it is preventing my from playing music on my USB drive.
     
  12. TaoJones

    TaoJones Beyond Driven

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2014
    Messages:
    1,529
    Location:
    The Americas
    #12 TaoJones, Jul 11, 2016
    Last edited: Jul 11, 2016
    Yesterday when dropping by an SvC, my expectation was that I would get 2.24.103. What I got was 2.24.102. Doh.

    This is yet another reason why we need release notes per release in advance of the installation so that we know what we are about to install - with an opt-out, unless safety-related. I'm a patient guy. I can wait.

    So. USB/touchscreen problems again, eh? This happened before - no error message but verrrrry slow touchscreen response. The workaround from Service was to disconnect the USB sticks "because that fixes the problem". Uh, hrm. Another workaround was to delete visited locations, one by one, via the touchscreen interface. Eventually, a release followed that actually fixed the problem.

    Now, of course I have no idea whether *.103 fixes the above defect reported with *.102, or if my car is even a candidate for *.103. No release notes with *.103 either, evidently (beyond the single Summon-related page). I do know that the last things I want to see in a part that costs $4,000 to replace are spurious error messages.

    I'll take regression testing for $200, Alex.
     
    • Like x 1
  13. kyalami

    kyalami Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2015
    Messages:
    78
    Location:
    Providence, RI
    I have had many of the same symptoms since getting the latest updates:

    Touchscreen blank
    Touchscreen dead with message on drivers display
    Drivers display blank and missing info on right side

    Was told to take car out of power saving mode and to keep "always connected" on
    And, finally was told to remove my USB Drive!

    Got a new update today...waiting to see what happens now.
     
  14. msnow

    msnow Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2015
    Messages:
    4,962
    Location:
    SoCal
    My DRL's always worked. Was that something specific to a previous update you received or is this an AP2 specific thing?
     
  15. MDMGSO47

    MDMGSO47 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2016
    Messages:
    364
    Location:
    Greensboro, NC USA
    This was awhile ago and was a software thing that got resolved (at least on my car) soon after my post.
     

Share This Page