Welcome to Tesla Motors Club
Discuss Tesla's Model S, Model 3, Model X, Model Y, Cybertruck, Roadster and More.
Register

Dynamic / Auto speed-limit adjust (Auto-Pilot)

This site may earn commission on affiliate links.
Just a bit disappointed with Tesla Auto-Pilot (not FSD). I have been driving German cars for more than a decade, and since 2016, every single one of 7 Mbenz or BMW cas I owned did Auto-Speed adjust to match the new posted speed as I pass a new speed limit sign while driving on cruise control (autopilot equivalent).

I am just super disappointed by the fact that Tesla, the company that claims they care that much about driver's safety and autonomous features, that the standard AP or even Enhanced AP, do not support Auto-speed adjust.

In a way, if I am driving on a 35MPH zone, I set the AP and speed is 35MPH, once I pass a new posted sign of 55 MPH zone, the cruise control set speed would never auto adjust to the higher 55MPH. It's huge disappointment after never ever adjusting the speed while driving for the majority of my route to work. The same is true on highway while the route speed changes from 65 to 75 back and forth, I always have to adjust manually by canceling and re-activating AP via the steering AP knob.

The only exception to this is for low speed in-town driving, if the new posted sign limit is >10 MPH lower than the current set one, AP will force adjust to lower speed that is at least within 5MPH from the new posted speed but will NOT match it, and that is simply because AP does not want to drive the car at more than 5 MPH higher than the set point, not as a convenience feature. On highway, it doesn't matter, if am at a 75 MPH<, it will stay there even if I pass through a new 60 MPH posted speed limit.

Am I missing something or is it truly that stupid? Tesla should fix this... this has nothing to do with FSD, as many luxury and non-luxury car manufacturers have that as a standard feature!!!