Welcome to Tesla Motors Club
Discuss Tesla's Model S, Model 3, Model X, Model Y, Cybertruck, Roadster and More.
Register

Excessive Wh/mi at highway speeds

This site may earn commission on affiliate links.
Hello all! I'm new to the TMC forums and Performance Model 3 (with 20 inch wheels) ownership. I've been struggling with the range of my vehicle, as the computer never seems to accurately calculate expected energy consumption during long range trips; even after over 7,000 miles on the odometer. Using the data from the Tesla Range Table at Teslike.com and self procured data from recent trips, here are my following assessments:

According to TesLike's Range Table, at an average speed of 75 mph (average interstate speed limit in Texas) with the P3D+ 20 inch wheels, I can expect to travel 252 miles. Assuming that the battery's capacity is 75kWh, I can solve that the average Wh per mile is 297. (75,000Wh / 252).

During my last 164 mile trip, the navigation calculated that I should arrive with 22% battery capacity while starting with 91%. Assuming that the computer expect to use 69% of the battery or 51.75kWh (75kW of total capacity x 0.69), I can then calculate that the computer expected to average out at 315.549 kW/mi. (51,750Wh / 164).

Okay, now for real world results with an exterior temperature of 75*F at a top speed of 75 mph: 355 Wh / mi, which in theory would have knocked me down to 14% (164 miles * 355 = 58.22 kWh, 58.22 kWh / 75kWh = 0.776 battery capacity lost, subtracted from 91%), but in reality somehow knocked me down to 10%. I am *Not* driving aggressively and was using cruise control for the entirety of my drive.​