TMC is an independent, primarily volunteer organization that relies on ad revenue to cover its operating costs. Please consider whitelisting TMC on your ad blocker and becoming a Supporting Member. For more info: Support TMC
Start a Discussionhttps://teslamotorsclub.com/tmc/tags/

Horn Malfunction in S85

Discussion in 'Model S: Driving Dynamics' started by bloodyeyeballs, Mar 16, 2017.

  1. bloodyeyeballs

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2015
    Messages:
    6
    Location:
    LA, CA
    Yesterday, I noticed the horn did not work in my S85. While driving, I rebooted the dash and the center console and it still would not work. I had no trouble pushing the horn, just no noise. Upon arriving home, I was able to activate the horn with the iphone app.

    Once home, I again went to reboot the dash and console and still no horn. This am, 10 hours later, the horn now works. I tried to look for posts on this and found no answer. I obviously will continue to monitor this and bring it to Tesla's attention at the next service.

    Has anyone experienced a similar problem and/or does anyone know what is going on?
     
  2. kort677

    kort677 Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2015
    Messages:
    4,565
    Location:
    florida.
    it could be as simple as a blown fuse, you should get it checked by a service center
     
  3. animorph

    animorph Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2016
    Messages:
    483
    Location:
    Scottsdale, AZ
    Sometimes a full off/on cycle seems to be required to reset things beyond the dash and console. Was 10 hours later the first time you tried the horn after turning the car off?
     
  4. bloodyeyeballs

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2015
    Messages:
    6
    Location:
    LA, CA

    Yes. Basically I got home, got the horn to work with the app, rebooted it, tried again and no horn and gave up for the night. I plugged it in overnight, and 10 hours later, the next morning the horn works.
     
  5. J1mbo

    J1mbo Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2013
    Messages:
    919
    Location:
    UK
    If I hit mine in the right place, it triggers the Voice Command button.

    Amazing how accurate that system is when you don't want it to be...
     
  6. mrjedistud

    mrjedistud Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2015
    Messages:
    202
    Location:
    New York
    I had this problem. The SvC checked all the connections and still no Horn. The rebooted the system (not the screen) but what ever system operates the horn and it worked. I think that they could have done the reset remotely if you are not near a SvC.
     

Share This Page