TMC is an independent, primarily volunteer organization that relies on ad revenue to cover its operating costs. Please consider whitelisting TMC on your ad blocker or making a Paypal contribution here: paypal.me/SupportTMC

Nav snail trail?

Discussion in 'Model S: User Interface' started by JenniferQ, Nov 23, 2015.

  1. JenniferQ

    JenniferQ Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2015
    Messages:
    974
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    #1 JenniferQ, Nov 23, 2015
    Last edited: Nov 24, 2015
    I searched but could not find a thread, so apologies if this has already been discussed.

    Lately, my kids and I have noticed that when I navigate to a destination, there is a "snail trail," their words, from where we've come, but no blue line to where we are headed. And sometimes there's an empty patch in the middle if there is a nav trail. I thought maybe the connection was just slow, but everything else seems to work fine. And it never catches up. I also haven't been seeing traffic colors indicated lately, and yes, the traffic info is highlighted to on.

    This is in the main 17" screen. The smaller one in the IC still shows the segments fine.

    Any thoughts appreciated.
     
  2. scaesare

    scaesare Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2013
    Messages:
    3,940
    Location:
    NoVA
    Happens to me too. For several software versions now, unfortunately.

    A center console reboot usually fixes it for a while.
     
  3. msnow

    msnow Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2015
    Messages:
    4,275
    Location:
    SoCal
    Yes I've noticed it too but only the last few days.
     
  4. JohnQ

    JohnQ Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2012
    Messages:
    1,585
    Location:
    Redding, CT
    Agree, this happens every few months for me and requires a reboot. I also get a situation where the traffic overlay disappears when nav is on; a reboot fixes that one too.
     
  5. bancroftc

    bancroftc Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2015
    Messages:
    179
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    I have noticed this as well. Annoying for sure. I think zooming in or out sometimes fixes it, but always seemed to revert back to it's wonky state at the previous zoom view.

    Thankfully the dash nav view always seems to function normally in these instances.
     
  6. msnow

    msnow Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2015
    Messages:
    4,275
    Location:
    SoCal
    I don't think the dash nav shows traffic though. Another workaround is to bring up Tesla-Waze in the web browser over the top of the Nav screen on the 17" which also shows traffic and more.
     
  7. scaesare

    scaesare Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2013
    Messages:
    3,940
    Location:
    NoVA
    I've noticed the zoom-workaround behavior too...
     
  8. Gizmotoy

    Gizmotoy Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2013
    Messages:
    3,155
    Location:
    Bay Area, CA
    Same here. I actually keep the center display on the "Trip" setting even though I kind of hate it. That view constantly changes the zoom and keeps the line up to date.
     

Share This Page