TMC is an independent, primarily volunteer organization that relies on ad revenue to cover its operating costs. Please consider whitelisting TMC on your ad blocker and becoming a Supporting Member. For more info: Support TMC

Please Tesla - optional speed limiter

Discussion in 'Model X' started by Joewdwd, Jan 27, 2018.

  1. jelloslug

    jelloslug Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2015
    Messages:
    4,044
    Location:
    Greenville, SC
    All I know is that it made weird noises a low speeds.
     
  2. Yinn

    Yinn Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2016
    Messages:
    1,266
    Location:
    Behind you
    Cruise doesn’t act as a governer. If you floor it, you’ll still go over the limit.
     
    • Like x 1
  3. nowtleft

    nowtleft Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2017
    Messages:
    265
    Location:
    Uk
    Doesn't work on absolute or the other option - is this an ap2 only thing?
     
  4. morrisdl

    morrisdl Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2017
    Messages:
    184
    Location:
    Smith Mt Lake, VA
    My Range Rover Evoke loaner has speed limited feature, but manual set limit and not adaptive to posted limits. Was like partial cruise control...easy to drive with the peddle mashed to the floor and forget about it, but more gimmicky than must-have feature. The WAZE app will chime when you exceed the posted speed limit by X% for any given stretch of road - VERY HANDY.
     
  5. rush6410

    rush6410 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2016
    Messages:
    354
    Location:
    Montgomery TX
    Not sure if it is AP2 only. I haven't used on non AP2. If I set my offset at +5, and then pull the stalk and hold, it will set cruise to +5. Let's say I am cruising at 65 with the offset limit at +5 on a 60 mph road. I enter a 50 posted zone that is recognized. The car will automatically reduce to 55. When the posted limit increases again. The car automatically increases to the original set speed of 65. So, I think there is one limitation. The car will never exceed the original cruise setting. So, set it at the maximum speed you will be traveling. I have used this on hwys and aux roads.
     
  6. nowtleft

    nowtleft Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2017
    Messages:
    265
    Location:
    Uk
    Thanks will try again
     
  7. rush6410

    rush6410 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2016
    Messages:
    354
    Location:
    Montgomery TX
    As a reminder, it only works with auto-steer engaged.
     
  8. nowtleft

    nowtleft Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2017
    Messages:
    265
    Location:
    Uk
    Ah - I dont use that except on motorways as not safe.
     
    • Like x 1
  9. mal_tsla

    mal_tsla Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2016
    Messages:
    450
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    Speed governors set within 20mph of the flow of traffic can cause accidents. Sometimes you need to jump out of a bad situation and the only way out is forward.

    I would never use this feature. Not even for teen drivers. What I would use is a push notification if a certain speed is exceeded. I want them in trouble, not wrecked or injured.
     
    • Like x 1
  10. nowtleft

    nowtleft Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2017
    Messages:
    265
    Location:
    Uk
    Confirm it does work in AP but NOT just TACCS which is daft. I have asked Elon to implemet it on TACCS alone - fingers crossed:) Thanks for help though!
     

Share This Page

  • About Us

    Formed in 2006, Tesla Motors Club (TMC) was the first independent online Tesla community. Today it remains the largest and most dynamic community of Tesla enthusiasts. Learn more.
  • Do you value your experience at TMC? Consider becoming a Supporting Member of Tesla Motors Club. As a thank you for your contribution, you'll get nearly no ads in the Community and Groups sections. Additional perks are available depending on the level of contribution. Please visit the Account Upgrades page for more details.


    SUPPORT TMC